Soup’s On!

I had a dinner party on Saturday night and it went fabulously – and I forgot to take photos of any of the food. But it was good, I promise. When I make it all again, I’ll be sure to take photos Dinner did include my first successful yeast bread – it only took three tries to get my yeast to proof. 

On Sunday, I bought these adorable bowls. I’ve been using them for everything. It’s fitting that the season suddenly changed from mid-summer to end of fall/beginning of winter.

Oh my goodness and this  Pomegranate, Apple, Brussels Sprouts salad from Joy the Baker – go make it. It’s amazing. Her photos of it are also 10 times better than mine.

Back to the weather…the leaves, they are a changing, but it’s still California….

Between my cute new bowls and the weather, I’m so happy it’s soup/stew season. Nothing better than a bowl of soup after a cold bike ride home in the dark.

Unless it’s a bowl of mushroom-tempeh stroganoff  – with a side of salad or grilled cheese, depending on what you’re craving.

Vegan Mushroom-Tempeh Stroganoff
Adapted from Gena at Choosing Raw

Ingredients

  • 1 portobello mushroom caps, sliced
  • 4 oz shitake mushrooms, sliced
  • 8 oz baby bella mushrooms, stemmed ands sliced
  • 8 oz tempeh
  • 2 tbsp vegetable broth
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1/2 yellow onion, chopped
  • 3 tbsp Earth Balance or Coconut Oil, or mix
  • 3 tbsp flour of choice
  • 1 cup almond milk
  • 1 cup vegetable broth
  • 1/4 cup nutritional yeast
  • 1/2 tbsp marjoram
  • 1/2 tbsp bay leaves
  • 1/2 tbsp Italian seasoning mixture (or any mixture of basil, thyme, oregano, rosemary)
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • 4 servings cooked pasta or rice

Method

1. Heat large sauté pan on medium high heat. Add broth and cook mushrooms, tempeh, garlic and onion until tender and starting to brown. Season to taste with salt and pepper.

2. Melt coconut oil/Earth Balance in large skillet or pot. Whisking constantly, add one tablespoon of flour at a time until a thick mixture develops.

3. Add the almond milk, broth, spices, and nutritional yeast. Bring to a boil and then turn down to a simmer, whisking occasionally. Allow to simmer until thickened. Add the cooked mushroom/tempeh mixture and stir until all is heated through and bubbling. Season to taste with salt and pepper.

4. Serve over rice or pasta. Garnish with chives, if desired.

This is SO good. I loved beef stroganoff as a kid and it was a dish I hadn’t been able to recreate vegetarian style, so I am so thankful to Gena for doing it for me so I could tweak it.

And now, I’m off to read and sleep so I can get in an early morning gym session. Good night everyone!

One thought on “Soup’s On!

Leave a Reply

