Nerd Fitness Week Five and Being a Blogger

I’ve been sitting on this post for a few days. I don’t know why. I have two other posts just sitting around too.

Thanks to Shannalee at Food Loves Writing for inspiring me to get back into it. And that’s why I love the blogosphere.

Another week, another Nerd Fitness Challenge update. This week I’ve been considering whether it’s a good idea or a bad idea to commit to doing things every day.

What are some things I do every day?

  • I get up
  • I commute for an hour each way
  • I work
  • I cook breakfast, lunch, and dinner
  • I talk to my mom
  • I hug my fiancé
  • I text/call/email/see my friends
  • I walk
  • I read
  • I Instagram
  • I floss
  • I pet my cats
  • Water my plants

I sometimes waffle between wanting to push myself (write on the train! stay up to date! be in the know! find a new project!) and wanting to give myself some breathing room to just stare out the window of the train on my commute. I’ve read both sides of the work/life balance debate – that it’s necessary and that it leads to mediocrity. What do YOU think? Can success and balance go hand in hand? I suppose it depends on your definition of success. I’m not sure where I fall at the moment.

Food/Fitness Goals 

1. Eat one dessert per week
I managed to eat pie every day this weekend, and then had dessert Monday and yesterday too. So If five days of desert is the same as one day, then I have totally succeeded!!

2. Do yoga twice a week.
Done and it feels so good. We were with Alex’s family for the weekend and his dad led an hour long practice both Saturday and Sunday morning. Now if I only had someone to do that for me at home…

3. Run a 7:30 minute mile outside.
I’m going to get to the track one of these days, I swear.

Life Goals

1. Blog every day
Nope. Nada. Not close.

2. Meditate for 15 minutes every day
I have been sitting every day. Sometimes it’s for 15 minutes. Sometimes it’s for 10 breaths. I’ll take it.

3. Organize my closet.
There’s still time!

4 thoughts on “Nerd Fitness Week Five and Being a Blogger

  1. I guess it’s what’s impt to u and not how many things u squeeze in. Ig it’s impt I guess we will make time for it even if we give up essentials like sleep. Which explains y moms are sleep deprived

Leave a Reply

