Rain, rain, go away…

…bring back the snow! It started snowing in Seattle last night, but as of this morning it has turned to rain. Ashley has to drive to work this morning, so I hope the roads are safe for her.

I got into Seattle Monday night, and it’s been a pretty low key trip so far. I haven’t taken many photos because my days haven’t been overly picture worthy yet. Yesterday I woke up relatively early and I went on a beautiful 4 mile run through the Green Lake area of Seattle. I wish I had taken my camera because the sun on the lake was gorgeous, but alas, I did not, and my phone camera couldn’t do it justice.

Despite being sort of sunny, the run left me freezing! Seattle is definitely colder than Vancouver – which surprised me. After my run, I came home, ate a snack and then went with Derrick to Tai Chi. I have never done Tai Chi before, but I really enjoyed it! It was slow and meditative, but we also a half hour of yoga-like postures, and I felt great and stretched out afterwards.

Then we hit up the grocery store to get some eats for my time here. Went home and made lunch and then I headed downtown on the bus to meet up with my boss for a part time fellowship that I’m doing. I’m helping plan a retreat for young people who want to be more involved in their family’s philanthropy and want to work for social change. My boss lives in Seattle, so it seemed like a good time to get some face to face work in.

The bus is always a great place to people watch; there was this lovely woman at the front of the bus who was dressed all in red and listening to music. She was dancing up a storm in her seat and I thought to myself, “that’s someone who loves life!”

After working for a few hours, I wandered around downtown Seattle a bit before hopping back on the bus. Ashley and Derrick both do Kung Fu and had class, so I decided to whip them up dinner. I made veggie burgers and salad, and I guess they were good, because Derrick had 3!

For your eating pleasure, here’s the recipe:

Tempeh-Quinoa Burgers
Ingredients:
1/2 cup quinoa
2 cups thinly sliced peeled sweet potatoes
1 cup water
1/2 tsp salt
1 tbsp olive oil
1 cup diced onions
1 cup minced bell peppers
2 garlic cloves, minced or pressed
8 oz tempeh, diced
1 tsp dried oregano
1/4 tsp ground black pepper
4 tsp soy sauce
2 tbsp tomato paste, ketchup, or tomato salsa (I used ketchup)
1 tbsp dark sesame oil (optional)
2 tsp dijon mustard
1/3 cup chopped fresh cilantro (I skipped this)
1/4 cup sesame seeds (I skipped these – I’ve made these burgers a lot, and I prefer them without the seeds)
Method:
Preheat the Oven to 375 degrees.
Rinse the quinoa and combine with the water, sweet potatoes and half the salt in a sauce pan. Cover and bring to a boil, then reduce heat and let simmer until the quinoa is soft and the sweet potatoes are tender, about 15 minutes.
Meanwhile, heat the olive oil in a skillet over medium heat. Add the onions, the other half of the salt and cook about 5 minutes until the onions are soft. Add the bell peppers and garlic, cover and cook another 3 minutes. Add the tempeh, pepper, oregano and soy sauce, cover, and cook 7 – 8 minutes. Transfer to a bowl.
When the sweet potato/quinoa mixture is finished, mash the sweet potatoes with the quinoa and mix it all together. Add the veggie/tempeh mixture. Mix in the ketch up, mustard, sesame oil and cilantro (if using). If you’re smart, refigerate the mixture until it’s cool enough to handle. If you’re like me, try to make the patties as quickly as possible to avoid burning your hands. Sprinkle each side with sesame seeds (if using). Bake on lightly oiled baking sheet until firm, about 35 minutes.
Delicious topped with avocado!

Not sure what I’m going to do today because the weather has turned rainy, but I still have more work to do so I’m going to start with that!

2 thoughts on “Rain, rain, go away…

    • Yeah, I changed it! The first post kind of explains why. And yes, I am obsessed with Moosewood too!! I want to go to Ithaca to go to the restaurant!

Leave a Reply

