Routine is my friend

So many of you know, but some do not, that I quit my job and while I have a part time fellowship, I have a lot of free time on my hands.

An endless supply of free time is not as motivating or as fun as I thought it would be. I run the serious risk of doing nothing and getting bored. To combat this, I came up with a solid morning routine this weekend. I’m still working out the kinks, but it starts with a 5 am wake up call and then goes something like this:

  • 5:00 am – 5:10 am: Feed the cats, wake up
  • 5:10 am – 5:30 am: Meditate
  • 5:30 am – 6:00 am: Make breakfast and eat
  • 6:00 am – 6:30 am: Chores, cleaning up
  • 6:30 am – 7:30 am: Exercise (gym, run, yoga)
  • 7:30 am – 8:00 am: Shower and get read

This is my ideal morning routine because I’m an early riser and this puts me at being ready at my normal time (as when I was working). The only thing that might not always work is the morning exercise. I’m not a huge fan of running alone in the dark; it’ll be much easier later when the sun rises earlier. But I know that if I put it off until 8 am, I won’t be mentally ready to go because I’ll be in my pajamas and still in not awake mode.

This routine also requires that I’m in bed early. I’m slowly coming to accept that I’m simply a morning person on the whole. Don’t get me wrong, I enjoy a night out dancing and living it up, but generally speaking, I’d rather be asleep early and up early. Sometimes I feel like I’m a 60 year old at heart instead of going on 24, but what are you going to do?!  Early to bed, early to rise is when I feel my best.

Although, sometimes a girl's gotta dance!

I also plan on studying German with Mango Languages while I have time off. Half of Alex’s family is Austrian, and they all speak German when we’re together. It’s tough being the only one in a group that doesn’t speak a language, so I better get on it.

Here's us in our Austrian garb!

Volunteering is also on the agenda, so I can hopefully find some answers to the question “what am I doing with my life?” I have a list of volunteer opportunities at the ready and I’ve already signed up for some orientations to get started.

The most important thing to me is that I use this time actively to explore San Francisco, meet new people, or do new things. I don’t want to look back and say “I quit my job so I could sit around for 6 months.” I can be unfulfilled and make money at the same time. My intention was to make space to explore who I am and what I want. So I better do it and all you readers out there better hold me accountable!

I’m also thrilled to have time to cook and experiment with food; speaking of which, I have a wonderful recipe to share with you soon!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

