A Case of the Mondays

Even though I don’t have a job, it appears I can still get the Mondays.

Last night was full of epic culinary failures. Doughy whole wheat bread. Unripe avocados. And veggie burgers that wouldn’t cook through. I didn’t take any photos because I was too busy swearing and shaking my spoon at the bread. And pleading with the burgers to just cook a little bit more, please?! The avocados just got the cold shoulder.

What I hate more than failure (and let’s be real, I am a terrible loser) is waste. I hated that I wasted money, time and food on a recipe that didn’t work out. I tried to make the best of it by turning the burgers into veggie hash and running to the store for some ripe avocados. And this morning, I toasted the doughy bread and topped it with peanut butter and it was halfway decent. I even ate a third piece when Alex abandoned it to run out the door to catch the train.

But it just wasn’t good enough. So I embarked this morning on a second loaf with a different recipe. And I learned one thing: kneading bread for thirty minutes is equivalent to pushups and has a more delicious reward. Although, I can’t yet vouch for the deliciousness because it’s still rising in the oven. Here’s to hoping! I’ll let you know.

In light of all these kitchen mishaps, I do have a wonderful recipe that I can vouch for. This soup is warming, hearty and perfect with a hunk of crusty bread and a side salad.

Chunky Lentil Soup
From Super Natural Cooking by Heidi Swanson

Ingredients:

  • 1.25 cups green French or black beluga lentils
  • 2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 large yellow onion, chopped
  • 2 cups diced butternut squash (1/4 inch dice)
  • 1 28 oz can crushed tomatoes
  • 1 cup water or vegetable stock
  • 1 teaspoon fine grain sea salt
  • Pinch of chipotle powder
  • Torn fresh basil leaves, for garnish
  • Good quality olive oil, for garnish

Method:

Bring 5 cups of water to a boil in a saucepan, add the lentils and cook until tender, about 20 minutes.

Heat the oil in a soup pot over medium high heat, and sauté the onions until tender. Stir in the squash, tomatoes, and water/broth and cook until squash is tender, about 12 minutes. Drain the lentils and stir them in along with the salt and the chipotle powder. Let the soup return to a simmer and taste to adjust the seasoning.

Serve, topped with basil and a drizzle of olive oil.

So orangey and delicious. Random sidenote, we’ve been eating a lot of oranges lately because I couldn’t resist the amazing deal on a 5 lb bag. That’s a lotta oranges, folks. I suppose we could make juice?!

Alright, time to check on the next loaf.

And no, I don’t mean these loaves :

 

Leave a Reply

