Generosity and Balance

I must look particularly generous today. On my walk to downtown SF and back, I got more requests than usual for a quarter, a penny, a dollar, etc. I wish my pockets were bottomless so I could give something to everyone, but unfortunately, they are not.

I do the best that I can and give the most that I can. As long as they are respectful in asking, I am respectful back and always offer a smile. (A note: I’m not disrespectful if someone is disrespectful, but I tend to ignore them and give them more space). I hope that this makes up for the fact that my wallet is not Mary Poppin’s bag and I can’t help everyone. I have a friend who told me when she first started working in the city that it was draining to be asked and have to say no all the time. I feel the same way sometimes.

I hope to get into a line of work that can truly help people stay in healthy and happy situations. There are many avenues for that, and I’m still figuring out where I best fit in, but my thoughts are always with the people I pass on the street.

In slightly brighter news, I thought I would share a book with ya’ll as my photo post is going to be a bit delayed due to technological issues.

I checked this book out at the library and I love it!

Om Yoga Today is a book with 5 minute, 15 minute, 30 minute, 60 minute and 90 minute practices, for those moments where you have a bit of extra time but aren’t quite sure what to practice. It makes me happy because all of the images are stick figures.

It’s good to note that you should probably have a bit of yoga background, or supplement this with a book that has actual people as models. Occasionally it can be difficult to understand positioning with the stick figure legs and such.

Each practice incorporates breath work, twists, forward bends, back bends, inversions, balances and resting poses. Even the five minute practice! The book also includes a section on how to meditate and an introduction to the connection between breath and movement. It’s a fun, and different, yoga book that doesn’t take itself too seriously, which I always love.

Hippo also approves!

I’m off to clean my house as my sisters are coming to visit me tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

