You Know We Mean Business When…

we wear fancy shoes.

Alex and I got a little dressy last night and went out to dinner to celebrate V-Day. We actually had no plans originally, but last week, we walked by this restaurant we’ve been wanting to try and they had a tasty looking veggie pre-fixe menu so we made reservations.

The restaurant is called Grub, and on their menu they normally have a MAC AND CHEESE BAR!!! Tragically, this cheesy deliciousness was not available to us on the pre-fixe menu which means we will have to go back.

The place is new and a little funky – they had MJ and other randomly awesome songs playing the whole time. I’ll take great dance music over soft piano ballads any day of the week.

The menu:

1st Course: Butternut Squash Risotto

Very tasty. I love butternut squash and the crispy leeks on top were delightful. And if you’ve seen the Top Chef Masters episode, it definitely spread out and was not stiff.

2nd Course: Organic Roasted Beet Salad with Goat Cheese

Anything with beets and goat cheese wins in my book. Plus the orange vinaigrette was a nice complement to the flavors.

3rd Course: Organic Vegetable Terrine

There were two components to this dish. A white bean salad with sriacha vinaigrette which was amazing – one of my favorite things of the meal. The other component, the main part of the course, was the vegetable terrine. I’m sad to say it was terrible. There was some kind of strange gel holding the vegetables together. Alex and I both noted that we could have done without it.

4th Course: Parmesan Crusted Tofu Frites with Brussel Sprouts and Apricots

This, other than dessert, was my favorite course of the night. Yummy parmesan tofu frites with soft California apricots, caramelized onions and brussel sprouts. The sweetness of the apricots paired wonderfully with the salty parmesan and tofu.

5th Course: Dark Chocolate Torte

This was my favorite, natch. Dense, fudgy chocolate torte with tangy mascarpone and raspberry coulis. It pretty much doesn’t get better in my book. I was so sad to see this course end.

I really liked that the meal wasn’t heavy. Even after 5 courses, I wasn’t stuffed – I probably could have eaten a burrito or some nachos or some more ice cream if I was really motivated. It’s nice to go out and indulge without feeling like you want to puke afterwards.

We even got a rose with our check!

Looking scared there Alex…does that rose have some thorns??

Now his sexy look.

After we got home (it was raining so my hair was frizz central) we exchanged cards. Alex was, *ahem*, a bit late in purchasing my card (as in, yesterday afternoon) so they were all out of V-Day cards. He did a pretty good job of picking out a fitting one for me anyway.

I ❤ yoga and mojitos are my favorite drink! He knows me so well. I’ve been carrying around his valentine that I bought at an antique shop in Seattle for almost a month! I’m really into owls and he loves making silly puns, so again, a perfect card.

A great date with some delicious food! I hope everyone else had a wonderful V-Day as well! XOXO

 

5 thoughts on “You Know We Mean Business When…

  1. Mac and Cheese bar sounds pretty much excellent!
    I had some amazing risotto for my Valentine’s dinner as well, strangely enough. 🙂

    I love the cards Alex picked out for you as well! Very sweet.

    • Oooh, did you make the risotto or did you have it somewhere? In a Top Chef episode recently, they discussed how risotto should really spread across the plate, but I feel like this was the first time I’ve had it that way – and I’ve never made it that way! Mine is always thicker but now I know!

  2. Cole took me a fancy restaurant in Pacific so I didn’t have to lift a finger. I don’t think I could make a risotto that good (though now I’m definitely going to try).
    I didn’t know about the proper way to make and serve it either, but the one I had was like yours pictured!

    • Oops, I was trying to a) reply to your reply and 2) write “Pacifica” when I wrote “Pacific” and even that was incorrect. The place was Pacific’s Edge in Carmel! Silly me.

  3. That looks like a great restaurant! I need to try making that parmesan tofu at home, it couldn’t be too hard right? Glad you had a great V Day with your honey. 🙂

Leave a Reply

