Movin’ and Shakin’

I figured out how to fight the funk! Fresh air cures all. I used to think it was exercise itself that helped, which to a certain extent it does. But 30 minutes on a stationary bike or an Insanity DVD (which I did yesterday and then wanted to die) just isn’t as refreshing. And although the forecast said 50% chance of rain, I grabbed a raincoat and the camera, and I headed out the door.

I hiked to the top of Twin Peaks, which I’ve never done before. If you guessed that the fog mostly obscured the view of the city and that it was pretty damn cold, you’d be right. But despite the wind whipping my hair and the grey city view, I felt the funk dissolve. I have had more than one person say to me that when in a bad mood, head out into nature – it seems to cure most of what ails you. And yet it always takes me a few days to remember to do it. Plus it was pouring rain yesterday and I refused to leave the house to walk to the gym, much less hoof it around town.

Surprisingly, I wasn’t the only one that ventured out into the mist. I saw a jogger an two bikers, which seems like quite a feat to me. Many more came up via tour bus and I felt bad for those folks; as a tourist, the view was highly diminished by the fog. But maybe they felt like I did, and they were just happy to be off the bus.

The rain held off until my walk back, and even then it was only a sprinkle. My many layers protected me from the cold and I protected the camera underneath my jacket (it looked real attractive). After a brisk walk back, I made and ate lunch and here I am. Maybe the hike wasn’t QUITE as fun as a chocolate factory tour, but I have to say, it completely changed my outlook on the day and the past week.

I took a bunch of pictures, but I can’t upload the pictures from the DSLR to my computer so I have to wait until Alex has a minute. Most of them are just swaths of grey anyway, so you’re not missing much. But if any of them are good, I’ll post ’em later.

Take that February Funk! You’re outta here!!

 

Leave a Reply

