March in Montreal

So this post is coming uber late because I wanted to squeeze as much time out of Montreal as I could! I stayed with my cousin Kara who I have only met twice before for a few hours, so we had a lot to catch up on! I will forewarn you that I didn’t take as many pictures as I could have because we spent a lot of time just hanging out and talking with a lot of Kara’s friends and I didn’t want to be all up in their faces with a camera since I don’t know them super well. 🙂

As a slight family promo, if you live in Montreal and are interested in studying Iyengar Yoga, Kara has opened a studio called The Little Yoga Room.

So I arrived Thursday night after 12 hours on the Greyhound, which wasn’t as bad as it could have been because I was reading The Girl Who Played with Fire and finished it, of course. I can’t wait to get the next one AND see the movies.

So I got to Montreal and walked into the Metro station and I don’t think I quite realized how French everything was going to be! It’s pretty much like walking into a city in France – all signs are in French (by law) and I think I only heard speaking English once during the entire trip (unless they were talking to me).

I managed to figure out my way to Kara’s house and she was just finishing up a yoga class. So I freshened up and joined her for the end of it! Then she and I and one of her students, Ambrose, sat down for a delicious dinner of cous cous and tagine and started to get to know each other!

After Ambrose left, Kara and I watched a yoga documentary called Enlightened Up which was pretty interesting – it explores may different kinds of yoga and the effect a regular practice can have on your life.

Friday morning, we woke up and kept talking and then went over to her friend Anais’s house to chat and catch up. Anais and her boyfriend Jack have a beautiful daughter named Ella and another on the way any day now!

They were both very open and hilarious people which describes most of Kara’s friends. Everyone that I met in Montreal was very friendly and interested in me and what I was doing with myself. It’s refreshing when you meet new people who are actually very engaged in what you’re talking about – even when you might not see them again for a long time. I hope I am that way for new people as well!

Friday afternoon, we walked, lunched and visited an awesome indoor farmers’ market.

A beautiful church – there are tons of them in Montreal.

Cousins! Check out my hat! Awesome right?!

Pretty great local produce for the freezing winter in Montreal!

And pie. Always pie.

Friday night, we went out dancing! Because Montreal is very European, the music was techno instead of hip hop, which is what I am more used to for dancing, but it was still great! The place we went was a super cool lounge/bar/club with comfortable seats and a swanky decor that included lots of candles.

Melanie and Kara on the train – you have to bundle over going out clothes because it’s so cold! But everywhere has coat checks.

A random shot of Kara carrying some yummy cocktails for us.

Saturday it was raining, so we donned our raincoats and walked around a bit in old Montreal and then stopped for coffee to warm up and get dry! Kara used to be a stylist, so Saturday afternoon, I met yet another family of friends so that she could cut the kids’ hair before school started back up on Monday! They were a very fun family – the dad is from France and the mom is from Ireland, so the kids had great accents!

After hanging with them for a few hours and hearing about their trip to Cuba (it was weird for me to realize that because they are from Canada they can vacation to Cuba!) we went out to dinner with more of Kara’s wonderful friends at this delicious Thai place. And then we went for dessert of course. They had an extensive hot chocolate menu, but I was itching for something more intense:

Sunday, Omaha, Kara’s daughter, came home and I got to meet her! And, needless to say, she is adorable! She is super smart and funny and also very sweet – a wonderful combination.

We went to brunch, walked around and then Kara and I went to yoga, came home, ate pizza with Omaha and watched Bewitched. And then I crashed out by 10 pm because I was exhausted. I really enjoyed getting to know Omaha and hopefully will see her again sooner than 5 years from now!

I had to wake up at 4:45 am to finish packing and catch a cab and then commenced the travel day from hell, which perhaps I will cover in the next post, as this one is already ridiculously long.

But now I am home and so happy to be here! I missed my man, my house and my cats! And now I have to catch up on real life which always seems a little more stressful than leaving real life behind. 😉

Thank you to Kara and Omaha for sharing their house, and to all the wonderful people I met in Montreal! I can’t wait to go back!

2 thoughts on “March in Montreal

  1. Indeed Alex this short visit warrants another of at least a weeks time. Spring and Fall are the choicest options:)
    Liz I had an amazing time and, not that I expected anything different, but we are pea’s in a pod and this is so nice to know for an age gap such as we have and a rough 6 hour familiarity.
    I thank you for your trust and courage in coming regardless of those two might have beens.

Leave a Reply

