Past My Bedtime

Staying true to my grandma status, I really wanted to be in bed by 7:30 pm. I’m not exaggerating; I fell asleep on the train home, but then had to keep up with my madman boyfriend on our bikes from the train station. Number one thing I have learned since starting my new job: I am not in biking shape.

In all seriousness, I am learning many interesting things and really enjoying the job so far. I have been in a cushy office with a new laptop this week and last because my computer is broken; but probably starting tomorrow, it’s onto a cubicle and giving up Windows 7. I’m particularly disappointed about that last part – Windows 7 is actually pretty awesome. As a Mac person, this was a nice surprise!

Anyway, this week has been pretty intense. My three jobs are catching up to me at the moment and unfortunately it’s nearing nine o’clock and I have not logged any sleep hours. But I have logged hours eating fajitas and chocolate, so it’s been a pretty good night.

Another thing I spent time doing this weekend was making snacks for the urban farm where I’m interning. They  have spring break camp this week, and although I’m disappointed I can’t be there to help out, I am so glad I get to provide for them in some way. I knew the snacks had to be wholesome, but filling, and couldn’t contain any peanut products because you don’t know who’s allergic. (I know people can be allergic to other things, but peanuts seem common).

So, I made these delicious bars based on this amazing recipe of Ashley’s from the edible perspective.

I was happy to hear that they were a big hit! I only ate a tiny corner, because I wanted to make sure there were enough. Apparently, it was good I didn’t eat too many because people went back for seconds! It’s always nice to know when people appreciate your food.

Raspberry Hazelnut Oat Bars

Ingredients:

  • 3 cups rolled oats
  • 1 cup whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1/4 cup ground flax meal
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1.5 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/4 cup sucanat
  • 1/2 cup apple sauce
  • 1/2 cup hazelnut butter
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1 teaspoon almond extract
  • 1/2 cup almond milk
  • 1 cup no sugar added jelly (I used raspberry, but you could use any flavor)

Method:

  • Preheat oven to 325 degrees.
  • Line a 9×9 baking dish with parchment paper or lightly grease it.
  • Mix oats, flour, flax, baking powder, baking soda, salt, cinnamon and sugar in a large bowl.
  • Whisk together the applesauce and hazelnut butter and then whisk in the vanilla, almond extract and milk.
  • Add the wet ingredients to the dry and stir. The batter will be thick and should be quite dry; add a touch of almond milk if the mixture seems too dry or a bit of flour if it seems too wet.
  • Spread half the mixture into the bottom of the pan and press flat with a spatula.
  • Add the jelly and spread evenly across the top.
  • Carefully drop spoonfuls of the batter on top of the jelly and spread until even.
  • Bake for 35 minutes until brown on top. Allow the bars to cool for 30 minutes before trying to cut them.

They were super yum; I am definitely planning on making them again to keep at home. I hope there are pictures of the kids at camp eating them – that would be so great.

Hearing that they were so well received really made my day and reminded me why I am putting myself through madness to contribute to all these wonderful things that I am passionate about. I am lucky to have the option to do it all, even if it makes me a little crazy. I have to give a shout out to Alex who has been a rockstar and been incredibly helpful with getting everything done. He’s the best!

On that note, it’s time to climb into bed!

2 thoughts on “Past My Bedtime

  1. 7:30 bedtime? Wow, you are a grandma. Just kidding! I’ve been known to go to bed before 9 but, then again, I’m not working as hard as you are. Keep up the good work, you are doing amazing things! 🙂

Leave a Reply

