Bob Ross in the Kitchen

Despite the fact that I cook often, I don’t fly by the seat of my pants in the kitchen. I’m a follow-the-recipe kind of gal. Only recently am I starting to experiment with throwing things together, mostly out of necessity. Last night was the first time that I felt ultra successful because my dinner turned out so well that I was sad I ate it all because I wanted leftovers, as the rest of my fridge is stale corn tortillas and peanut butter. Perhaps a winning combination somewhere, but again, I’m no culinary Bob Ross.

This needs no commentary.

Back to the positive – I pulled together a smattering of single components to create a great dish. As the dish involves caramelizing onions (which is pretty much like waiting in line at Disneyland without a FastPass), it doesn’t come together ultra-fast. You could also replace the broccoli with any other veggie – I happened to have it on hand because I got it fo’ free from these lovely people:

We were not IN the park when I got the free broccoli, but this is the most recent picture I have!

Mediterraneanish Chickpea and Broccoli Saute

Ingredients

  • Olive oil
  • 1 onion, sliced
  • 1 head of broccoli, cut into florets
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 cup chickpeas
  • 5 kalamata olives, pitted and chopped
  • 3 – 5 sundried tomatoes not packed in oil, soaked and chopped
  • Cumin, paprika, cayenne
  • Salt and Pepper to taste

Method:

  1. 1) Heat a large sauté pan on medium high heat. Add olive oil to coat the bottom. Add the onions and stir to coat in oil. After ten minutes or so, add a shake or two of salt. Let them stew in their own delicious juices until they are caramelized goodness, anywhere from 30 minutes to an hour. Stir only occasionally – the last time I tried this, I stirred too often and they didn’t caramelize. You can add a pinch or two of sugar to help the process along.
  2. 2) When the onions look done, scrape them out of the pan into a small bowl. Add a bit more oil to the pan (not too much), toss in the garlic and sauté until fragrant.
  3. 3) Add the chickpeas, cumin, paprika and cayenne to taste and sauté.
  4. 4) Meanwhile, steam the broccoli until tender but not mushy.
  5. 5) Add the steamed broccoli, sundried tomatoes, and onions to the chickpea mixture and stir until heated through. Season with salt and pepper (and cumin, paprika, cayenne) to taste.
  6. 6) Top with chopped kalamata olives.

Topping it with feta would also be a nice addition. Some lemon in the mix might also be tasty.

I’m not embarrassed to say I ate it all (Alex was out eating at my favorite restaurant with a friend and I was feeling hungrily vindictive). It was filling without being heavy and even though I’m way too lazy these days to do a calorie analysis, it felt pretty healthy to me.

I ended the night with a handful of chocolate chips and a phone date with this lovely lady:

Teehee tiny hats!!

On to another creative night in the kitchen!

2 thoughts on “Bob Ross in the Kitchen

Leave a Reply

