Getting Off Track

This weekend didn’t turn out quite like I thought it would, but everything happens for a reason, right? Alex and I were supposed to meet up with friends to go to Off the Grid, which is a gathering of 30 food trucks selling delicious street food. Then, because CalTrain hit a car, it took me three hours to get home and I didn’t quite feel like putting on my going out face. But you know what? I wasn’t even upset about the commute. I just though to myself –  “well at least I didn’t get hit by a car today.” My thoughts go out to the family of the woman who died.  It’s all about keeping things in perspective.For dinner, instead of street-food goodness, we had this wonderful recipe for black bean and sweet potato salad from OSG – follow her directions exactly. It’s amazing, easy (I think – Alex cooked it while I was out on Thursday night), and so tasty.

Saturday was spent completely unproductively and it was exactly what I needed. I decried to Alex that neither of us were allowed to do anything productive; we both work so hard during the week and usually I’m killing myself on weekends to get other stuff done, and I just needed a break. So we sat in the park and ate ice cream and I took a nap on the couch. It was lovely.

Umm yeah. I never get cones so this was extra AMAZING.Sunday was spent a bit more productively but also had some fun – went shopping with my sister from another mister, Rach (hahahaha). Rachel also gave me a pound or more of chocolate covered almonds, a half pound of chocolate covered espresso beans and the biggest bag of cocoa powder I have ever seen.

Why, Rachel, why did you do this to me? Especially when one can consider chocolate covered almonds healthy as dark chocolate and almonds both have healthful properties. But only if I don’t eat the entire bag. After my sugar coma, I’m coming for you Rach!

We went to dinner with a friend, and then more friends joined us to watch a new show based on the book series “Game of Thrones.” I haven’t read the books, but the show seems interesting. I was only half watching it because I was also making carrot cake for my office. The girl who worked here before me was an avid baker and I don’t think this cake quite measured up, but hopefully people eat it anyway! Must bring in Mama Pea’s dough balls next! No one can resist those!

Speaking of fun cooking adventures, I’d like to share a recipe for enchiladas with you even though I made it a little bit ago. I plan on making this OFTEN because it was so tasty. I will have to learn how to make enchilada sauce though so I can avoid building up jars. Although, then I’ll probably build up cans of tomato paste, so it probably doesn’t matter.

Veggie Smothered Enchiladas
Based on this recipe by OSG

Ingredients

  • 2 handfuls baby spinach
  • 1.25 cups enchilada sauce
  • 1 bell pepper, chopped
  • 1 zucchini, chopped
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 1 portobello mushroom cap, rinsed and chopped
  • 1 tsp mild chili powder
  • 1 tsp smoked chipotle powder
  • 1/4 tsp sea salt, to taste
  • 1 tsp nutritional yeast
  • 1 tsp lime juice (optional)
  • 1.25 cups cooked black beans, rinsed and drained
  • 2 whole grain tortillas
  • Vegan cheeze sauce for the topping: (4 tbsp hummus, 1 tsp or a bit more milk, 1/2 tsp nutritional yeast)
  • 1/2 avocado

Method:

  • Preheat oven to 350F.
  • Heat large pot on the stove over medium heat, add onion and heat until soft, about 5 minutes.
  • Add in the bell pepper, zucchini, beans, mushroom, and spinach, cover and cook until spinach wilts.
  •  Add in half of the enchilada sauce, and all of the nutritional yeast, sea salt, chili powder, and lime juice and stir well. Cook for about 3-4 minutes on medium heat.
  • Take a baking dish and pour the other half of the enchilada sauce onto the bottom.
  • Fill 2 tortillas with the mixture, wrap them and place in dish, fold side down.
  • Cover the tortillas with the remaining enchilada veggie/bean mixture and place into the oven uncovered at 350F for about 18-20 minutes.
  • Prepare the “cheese” sauce while they cook and drizzle over the enchiladas. Top with avocado.
Smothered in the dish
Out of the oven. Yum!Yes my dear friend Morgan, if you are reading this, they are vegan, but the “cheesy” sauce is so good! Make them! You won’t be disappointed!

2 thoughts on “Getting Off Track

  1. the game of thrones books are awesome. just a side note. mark is really sad that we won’t be able to see the show for a long long time.

  2. Can I just say how jealous I am that you have a guy who cooks!?! My hubby has not touched a pan since we’ve been together. Of course, I rule the kitchen so I don’t really let him in there anyways. 🙂 I think you have the right attitude taking a break on the weekends. It’s all about balance, right? Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

