Making My Cubicle Less Mind Numbing, part 1

I know it’s going to be a long day when it’s 10:28 am, I had a snack at 9 am, and I’m already thinking about lunch. Sometimes I debate how early is too early for lunch (especially because then I get the afternoon munchies and have run out of food). There were days at my old job, (particularly days where in 8 hours I responded to two emails), that I would eat both snacks and my lunch by 11 am, just so that I would have something to do. Emotional eating perhaps, but it made the morning just a little more exciting.
Speaking of needing to be more exciting, my cubicle is in desperate need of a makeover.
This is how it looks now…
I know, sort of tragic right? I moved on to Google to help me find creative ideas for cubicle décor.
This is the most impressive array that I’ve found – but I’m not quite ready to install bamboo siding and don’t really want to look like the office lush by setting up a bar. Not to mention that not many other folks have really decorated their cubicles. But I have to work here every day, and I need a little excitement.
Here are my thoughts:
  • I need to pick a color scheme or theme for the cube
  • Fabric seems to be a popular choice for covering the walls of the cubicle – perhaps a craft store trip is in order.
  • An article from the “Rachel Ray” show suggests bringing in something to inspire you and remind you of the reason you go to work each day; I think a mini inspiration board is in order.
  • I want a plant or two.
  • I’m going to bring in my own lamp.
  • Photos of friends, family and pets are a must.
  • I want to stock up on some healthy snacks – nuts and nut butter, rice cakes, organic fruit, chocolate covered almonds (damn you again Rachel!)
I also want to hit up the thrift store and get some things for my desk that I can find useful – perhaps an interesting coffee mug and jar to hold my pens. A fun tray for papers and maybe something to hold some magazines.
I’ve been feeling off in all of my spaces recently, so I think some redecorating is in order, both at home and at work. I want to really develop a vision for what I want the rooms t look like and then move slowly in that direction – rather than just throwing things on the walls or buying things that don’t make sense. I’ll post updates as they come!
One thought on “Making My Cubicle Less Mind Numbing, part 1

Leave a Reply

