A Not So Secret Garden

The neighborhood around my office is absolutely beautiful; the homes are expansive and expensive. Every house has an incredibly lush garden that spills out onto the sidewalk, muffling the already minimal traffic noise and creating an unexpected paradise. 

Among the stately homes is a captivating charming botanical garden that is as luxurious as the surrounding houses, although also manages to feel cozier and slightly less pretentious. It’s the perfect place for an afternoon walk and a break from the ever present computer screen. 

 

Teehee. 

 

 

 

Just up the street from the gardens is this church: 

 

This understated yet gorgeous church is where my sister got married in October 2007. I remember I was a senior in high school and I had to take the SAT II’s the morning of the wedding. I finished early and was so grateful to the proctor who let me go when I was done instead of making me wait until the test was over, as was the protocol. I rushed home, threw on my dress, my other sister did my make up and we whisked away to this church. 

Afterward, we took pictures in the gardens above and some of my favorites came from this gazebo. I will see if I can try to dig them up and post them here later. 

 

The wedding was beautiful and the reception was a blast (especially because my family hired my friends to serve, so I got to hang out with them too!) 

I hadn’t been back to the space since then, and it was fun to see it from a different vantage point. I’ll have to go back to the Madonna Inn sometime soon as well – which is where my other sister got married. Those ladies have good choices in venues! 

I love that I live in the city and work in the suburbs, so I get the best of both worlds. Plus, running on my lunch break with no stoplights and no insane hills pretty much makes the commute worth it. Perhaps I will stumble on some other treasure tomorrow! 

 

3 thoughts on “A Not So Secret Garden

Leave a Reply

