A Flop and a Find

Last week, I made dinner for Alex and our great friends, Rachel and Luis. You may have noticed that I’m not good at taking pictures of friends when they come over for dinner. I think this happens for two reasons:

1) I’m cooking.
2) I’m still not comfortable whipping out  my camera at every meal.

So here’s a picture of us from the good ole days, instead:

Love this picture. I have it hanging in my cubicle at work. 🙂

I made them pizza with polenta crust and asparagus:

The pizza ended up not being awesome, so I want to tweak the recipe before I share it on here.  It’s almost fun to sometimes make only okay food so you can get creative and make it better!

But there was a star of the night: the walnut parsley pesto that was the base layer for one of the pizzas. Here’s the recipe, reprinted exactly from Serious Eats:

Ingredients:

  • 2 garlic cloves, peeled
  • 1 cup toasted walnuts
  • 11/2 cups packed flat-leaf parsley leaves
  • 1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil, plus more as needed
  • 2 tablespoons lemon juice
  • Sea salt
Method: 
While the food processor is running, drop in the garlic. Stop the processor, scrape down the sides and add the other ingredients. Process until desired consistency is reached. Add oil or lemon juice to thin out if necessary. Salt to taste. 

This pesto was awesome on the pizza and has proven awesome on toast on top of tomato paste, as a dip for crackers, or mixed in with pasta. I highly recommend it.

I also recently found out about another new pesto product that I LOVE: Bolani Almond Pesto. They have a bunch of other spreads that I am drying to try. Someone had it at work and I took some for my toast and became obsessed; it’s so flavorful and rich and spicy – without being oily the way pesto can sometimes be. And the nutrition facts are awesome. Go check out their website and find a vendor, I promise it’s worth it!

So all in all, a good week for pesto and not so much for pizza or polenta, but I’ll make it work next time!

Leave a Reply

