Smokin’ Hot

I’ve been reading about smoked paprika on the blogs for awhile now, but hadn’t really embraced the thought – I wondered how different it could possibly be from regular paprika.

I was so, so, wrong and missed out on months of smoked paprika deliciousness! I actually bought it for the grits, but ended up using it before I got to those!

Of course, I had to make enchiladas.

Smoky Vegan Enchiladas with Cilantro Avocado Cream Sauce
adapted from Oh She Glows

Ingredients

Enchiladas:

  • 1 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 4 garlic cloves, minced
  • 2 cups sweet potato, chopped
  • 1 small zucchini, chopped
  • 1 bell pepper, chopped
  • 2 handfuls spinach, chopped
  • 2 cups black beans, rinsed
  • 2 cups enchilada sauce or pasta sauce, or both!
  • 1 tbsp nutritional yeast
  • 2 tsp ground cumin
  • 2 tbsp fresh lime juice, to taste
  • 1/2 tsp kosher salt, or to taste
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 2 tsp chili powder, or to taste
  • 1 tsp smoked paprika
  • 4 whole grain tortillas
Cilantro Avocado Cream Sauce 

  • 1.25 avocado flesh
  • 3 tbsp water
  • 3 tbsp lime juice
  • 1 tsp apple cider vinegar
  • 1 cup fresh cilantro
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 3/4 tsp cumin
  • 1/4 tsp cayenne
  • Black pepper to taste

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Simmer the sweet potato in small pot for 5 – 10 minutes until fork tender but not falling apart. Precooking means they will actually cook in the oven. Set the potatoes aside.

2. Heat a large skillet on medium heat. Add 1 tbsp of oil and add the chopped onion. Cook for 5 minutes, stirring often, until soft and translucent. Add garlic and cook for a few more minutes. Now add the the chopped pepper, precooked sweet potato, zucchini, black beans, and spinach. Cook five to seven more minutes on medium low.

3. Add your enchilada or pasta sauce. Stir well and add nutritional yeast, cumin, fresh lime juice, salt, garlic powder, chili powder, and smoked paprika. Stir well, taste and adjust seasoning as necessary.

4. Spread a thin layer of the mixture onto the bottom of a large casserole dish. Put 1/2 to 3/4 cup of the mixture in each tortilla, fold and place folded side down in the casserole dish. Cover tortillas with remaining mixture.

5. Bake enchiladas at 350F for 18-20 minutes.

6. Meanwhile, make your cilantro avocado cream sauce. Process avocado flesh until smooth. Add all other ingredients and process. Add water to reach desired consistency.

7. When the enchiladas are done baking, remove from the oven and top with cilantro avocado sauce.

The original serving is for 4 enchiladas, but I had enough mixture leftover for 2 additional which I just took to work the for lunch!

I also made a raw slaw from cabbage and carrot with an olive oil, apple cider, cayenne, and smoked paprika dressing. I can’t believe I used to hate cabbage – and now I eat it raw!

This recipe is such a winner – I bow down to Angela’s genius.

To make a note – I’m not a vegan, and neither is Alex. (Let’s be real, I definitely haven’t given up ice cream!)

So I searched for a picture of ice cream to show how I could never give it up, found this picture, drooled, and then posted it. Turns out, this ice cream is vegan!

Regardless, I find that my stomach is a whole lot happier when I’m not consuming dairy, so I’ve cut a lot of it out of my diet. I’m happy to enjoy it when we are out or when other people are cooking, but it’s been cut back to very small amounts at home.

The star of this dish – both in the enchiladas and the slaw – was the smoked paprika. If you’ve never had it, go get some because it will rock your world!

3 thoughts on “Smokin’ Hot

  1. That slaw sounds awesome (well, actually it all does). I don’t normally like traditional coleslaw even though I love cabbage – mayonnaise has always freaked me out.

    I could never, ever be vegan though. As nice as that vegan ice cream looks, I love cheese and yoghurt. I’ve tried soy yoghurt but it just isn’t the same. The vegan world also has yet to introduce me to an appropriate substitute for brie, Gloucester cotswold, or an entire list of Danish cheeses.

Leave a Reply

