Celebrating Success

We’re almost halfway through the year, so I thought I would check in on the goals I set in January. 
 
  • Drink 6 glasses of water while I’m at home per day.
    • Done; although I’m no longer home, which I think actually makes it easier.
  • Attend one Om Shan Tea event (a tea house by our house)
    • Not yet, but there are still 7 months in the year!
  • Read at least 3 classic novels
    • 2/3 of the way there: One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest, Stranger in a Strange Land (not sure if it’s actually considered a classic, but hey, it has a cult following.) I’m almost positive there was actually a third, but I can’t recall at the moment.
  • Run a half marathon
    • Check! And now in training for a full
  • Deepen my yoga practice (either through more frequent home practice or attending classes)
    • Check! Have been doing yoga almost daily and attending classes
  • Meditate daily
    • Check! 95% of mornings!
  • Attend a poetry slam
    • Not yet!
  • Write every day for about a half hour (either here or in a journal)
    • I have not acheived this, or even come close. My mind seems to seize when it comes to more creative writing, so I need to find to work through that.
  • Study German 5 hours a week
    • This was a great goal before I was working full time (plus part time plus volunteer commitments) but it hasn’t come to fruition at all.
  • Plan and implement our garden on our back deck
    • Planning done, implementing happening this weekend!
  • Redecorate our bedroom to be more inviting
    • Planning in the works for this.
  • Find a volunteer opportunity and do it – either a discrete one (one weekend, one event, etc) or something on going
    • Major check! Cat shelter, GOTR, Hayes Valley Farm

Yay kitties!

As for my overarching intentions:

  • Be present – in all conversations, situations, activities
    • I think I’ve been doing okay with this; I’ve been practicing a lot of deep breathing.
  • Let go – learn how to receive help
    • Definitely working on this although my control freak nature still comes out farily often.
  • Practice self acceptance and love
    • Doing fairly well; training for races and yoga  help with this a lot.
One thought on “Celebrating Success

Leave a Reply

