Photo Fail

I failed yet again at Project 365. I took one photo this week. Sad, but true. I decided this weekend I am going to carry my camera with me everywhere and just snap a ton of photos and see what happens. Hopefully good things!

In light of the fact that I don’t have any photos to show, I thought I’d share a quick recipe, for which I have no photos. Funnily enough, Emily over at The Daily Garnish posted a similar recipe today but I made mine last night, completely oblivious. Must be a popular combination of flavors!

This is what you make when you haven’t gone to the grocery store, but you have a lot of salsa in your fridge. It uses simple staples (except for the kale – but you could replace that with frozen spinach) that you probably already have.

Beans, greens, and grains: Mexi-Style

Ingredients

  • 2 cups black beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1 head kale, chopped
  • 1/2 cup quinoa, rinsed
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 onion, diced
  • 4 cloves garlic, chopped
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • Cumin, smoked paprika, cayenne, oregano, chili powder, salt, to taste
  • Lime juice
Method
Bring quinoa and water (and salt, if desired) to a boil. Reduce to a simmer, cover, and cook for 20 minutes.
Meanwhile, heat olive oil in large pan over medium heat. Add onions and garlic, saute until soft. Add spices to taste and stir to coat. Add beans and heat through. Add chopped kale and stir until wilted. Adjust seasonings and add lime juice to taste.
Serve over quinoa. Top with guacamole, salsa (or 4 salsas…). Tortilla chips add an extra crunch.
We just had the leftovers for dinner again, and they were quite delicious!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

