What Month Is It?!

Happy July!

Is anyone else in a little bit of shock that we are over halfway through the year already?! I remember when it was like this outside (I know I look totally goofy!):

There are so many things I thought i’d have accomplished by now, that I haven’t. Finding the perfect hummus recipe…getting pictures hung up on the walls…making the blog look decent…finding inner peace….

Just kidding about that last one (sort of).

I’ve been on a crazy making path for the last few months. I took on too many commitments and haven’t taken nearly enough time for reflection. This was totally self induced, and while I love everything I’ve been doing, it’s just too much. I have stepped away from some things, and now I need to figure out how to feel comfortable saying no without feeling guilty.

Living this way has meant when it comes to anything creative, including the blog, I often draw a blank and end up abandoning the process.

My health is also taking a hit – my thyroid levels are screwy and my cortisol and DHEA levels are way up.

Why am I sharing this? Well because this is an open space where I want to feel comfortable and encourage others to share too.

Also, I want to talk about what I’m going to do about it, in case any of you find yourselves in a similar situations.

Tomorrow, I’m leaving for two weeks for vacation with Alex. We are visiting his family in Austria for a week and then going to Turkey, just the two of us, for a week. I do plan on blogging while there, but I also plan to limit my computer time and enjoy being a bit disconnected.

But eventually, I will be back and life will be crazy again. But even amongst the craziness, I know there is time to be found for writing, reflection, creativity. My goal for August when I get back is to schedule in more space. But two kinds of space. Space to be lazy – to do whatever and not worry about anything. But also space to be reflective and creative and intentional about how I use my time.

Don’t always want to be lazy like these two!

So that’s the goal. It’s a big one. But I know I can do it. And I’ll blog about it here, so you can share how you find space, and maybe get some ideas too.

And just so that we get back to a big reason why I’m here in the first place, I have a great recipe to share. It’s healthy, packed with protein, and easy to make. It’s a combination of Gena’s Quinoa Protein Bowl and Angela’s Lightened up Goddess Bowl with a few changes. Quinoa and sweet potato is one of my favorite combos!

Quinoa and Sweet Potato Salad with Tahini Dressing 

Ingredients

Bowl

  • 1/2 cup quinoa, rinsed and drained
  • 1 1/4 cups water
  • Dash salt
  • 1/2 cup edamame, shelled and frozen
  • 6 oz. (about 3/4 cup) sweet potato, chopped and steamed
  • 2 cups finely chopped raw kale

Dressing

  • 1/4 cup Tahini
  • 3 garlic cloves
  • 1/2 cup fresh lemon juice (about 2 lemons)
  • 1/4 cup Nutritional yeast
  • 2 tbsp Extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 tsp kosher salt + freshly ground black pepper, or to taste
  • 3 tbsp water, or as needed
  • Black pepper and salt to taste
Method: 

Bring 1.25 cups of water to a boil and add quinoa and edamame. Reduce to a simmer and cover, until the quinoa has absorbed all the water, 20-25 minutes.

Meanwhile, add all dressing ingredients in a food processor, and puree until smooth.

When quinoa and edamame have absorbed the water, turn the burner to a low flame. Add 1/2 cup sauce and stir to combine. Add sweet potato and kale, and stir for a few minutes until kale wilts. Add more sauce if desired. Season with salt and pepper to taste.

Delicious, easy and quick – great combo for a weeknight when I have a million things to do. But hopefully soon, I won’t have a million, just a couple hundred thousand!

3 thoughts on “What Month Is It?!

Leave a Reply

