Day 11 of Yoga


A random shot of Big Sur that always makes me feel peaceful.

I sat down to write this post and realized that I had neither done my yoga today or eaten dinner. As doing yoga on a full stomach is never a good idea, I hopped onto my mat and did a nice, gentle 10 minute practice which felt great after doing speedwork on the track today.

The 21 day challenge is going well; even if it’s only been a 5 minute sun salutation or downward dog or child’s pose for a few minutes, I’ve gotten to the mat. Teri from A Foodie Stayed Fit wrote this week about negative self-talk while running, and I found the concept to be applicable in all realms of life. Including yoga. Not every practice will be perfect; sometimes I don’t finish the 90 minute podcast. Sometimes I get interrupted 2 or 3 times and don’t quite find the serenity I’m looking for. But when I get on the mat, I try to do each pose intentionally, even during the shortest practice.

Steve from Nerd Fitness recently wrote about making fitness his constant while on vacation. Yoga is my constant for these 21 days, and hopefully beyond. A space where I can return to catch my breath. A moment of peace within the chaos of commuting, getting bombarded with social media, and a world full of shoulds and obligations.

Yoga begets yoga, and I’m finding myself feeling more compassionate and calmer. Those that know me know I tend to worry. Yoga is helping me face that part of myself more compassionately, and also helping me detach from it a bit and let go.

I’m taking myself on a yoga date tomorrow night to midnight yoga, a 10 pm – 12 am class that has live music and a great vibe. It’s great to walk out of a studio mat in hand to walk home when people are just coming out to the bars. I am usually much happier to end the week and start the weekend in savasana instead of with a drink and crowded bar (although there are always exceptions!)

I’m excited to see what else comes out of these 21 days. I can only imagine what I could accomplish if I continued a daily practice!

Leave a Reply

