Black Bean Burgers for Breakfast

Last week for date night, Alex and I tackled Mama Pea’s “Better Than Ever Black Bean Burgers” from the cook book and Ashley and Steven’s “Sweet Potato Brownies 2.0”.

I rocked my new apron:


Clean ALL the things? 

And Alex got sassy:

We put our burgers on jalapeno bagels and had corn on the side. We had wonderful heirloom tomatoes to top the burgers. We discovered that crunchy bagels, while delicious, are not the best for soft veggie burgers. We definitely had some veggie burger explosions.

 

 

The sweet potato brownies didn’t turn out quite how I thought they would for some reason, but they were perfect for breakfast with a smear of peanut butter. I got my sweet fix AND a vegetable all in one.


Mmm breakfast brownie. Paired with a kale smoothie, I got two servings of vegetables in one meal!

 

Speaking of breakfast, on Sunday, I was sick of oatmeal and was craving something savory, so I busted out more kale (I bought a lot at the farmer’s market) and a black bean patty, along with the last heirloom tomato:

I have to say, there’s a reason these burgers are one of Pea Daddy’s favorites.

After eating it bun-less, I found I actually preferred it that way. The burger is so flavorful that you don’t need anything masking it. Topped with a bit of salsa, it made the perfect breakfast.

I’ll admit I felt a bit weird eating what felt very much like a dinner meal at breakfast, but everyone likes breakfast for dinner, so why not dinner for breakfast?! I’m a pretty solid “oatmeal and fruit for breakfast” kinda person, so it was nice to switch it up. Plus, it kept me full for a solid 4 hours, which is pretty rare for me. The brownie/smoothie was also pretty filling.

Moral of the story: make these burgers and don’t be afraid to think outside the box for breakfast – from burgers to brownies, eat what you like!

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Black Bean Burgers for Breakfast

Leave a Reply

