From Scratch Friday: Vegetable Stock

I mentioned earlier this week that I’ve had a lot of free time on my hands, due to walking pneumonia, which has a very vague end date by the way. The doc said a chest x-ray in 6 weeks…the marathon is in 2.5. She said I can run as long as I have the energy and the cough is gone…here’s to hoping!

I came home the other night with a hankering for Angela’s Time Crunch Vegan Enchiladas. But I didn’t have enchilada sauce. So then I found Emily’s enchilada sauce recipe. But then I didn’t have vegetable stock. Then I looked in my freezer and saw the bowl of vegetable scraps, just waiting to be turned into stock. Good vegetables to freeze are onions, carrots, zucchini, celery, mushrooms, herbs (parsley in particular) and garlic. You can also do it with fresh vegetables – potatoes and mushrooms make a good addition.

Mark Bittman has never steered me wrong, and sure enough he has several stock recipes in How to Cook Everything Vegetarian, including a quick, 30 minute stock. So this recipe is based on that.

Ingredients

  • Frozen veggie scraps
  • 1-2 tbsp olive oil
  • 6 cups water
  • 1 tbsp oregano
  • 1 tbsp marjoram
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 2 garlic cloves, whole, unpeeled
  • 1 tsp allspice berries
  • 2 tbsp soy sauce
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Method:

  1. Heat stockpot* on medium heat. Add olive oil and add veggies when warm. Saute veggies until browned.
  2. Add water, oregano, marjoram, bay leaves, garlic, allspice berries, soy sauce and pepper.
  3. Cover and bring to a boil. Reduce heat to medium low and simmer for 30 minutes to 1 hour.
  4. Strain the broth and season to taste.

*I obviously did this in a pan and not a stockpot, meaning I had to transfer the vegetables. Much better to have them in the stockpot and add the water.


Start with frozen veggies.


Brown them in a little olive oil.


Add water and spices.


Strain, season, and voila! Stock!


Then use it to make freaking delicious enchiladas. I wish I had more enchiladas now!

By making vegetable stock from scratch, you use vegetable scraps that would otherwise go to waste, you don’t end up with cartons to recycle, and without a doubt, it will be lower in sodium.

I used the stock to make enchilada sauce (recipe next Friday) and then made these fabulous enchiladas, based on Angela’s. Swapping in some different veggies and using white beans instead of black beans. Delish!

I plan to keep experimenting with stock – mushrooms are supposed to be particularly flavorful – and I want to try with fresh vegetables too.

Celebrating with one of my favorite couples this weekend – at their wedding! Can’t wait!

2 thoughts on “From Scratch Friday: Vegetable Stock

  1. Dried mushrooms make a wonderful broth by themselves, so I imagine their addition to stock would be just as tasty. 🙂

Leave a Reply

