Pumpkin Pie, healthy style

I actually don’t love pumpkin pie. In fact, I don’t even like it, although it might be growing on me. I love other pumpkin baked goods, like muffins and bread, but something about the texture and the chill of pumpkin pie just doesn’t do it for me.

Because I like the flavor profile, and because I’ve seen them around, I decided to try a pumpkin pie smoothie. And because I always like to get a jump start on my vegetable intake, adding greens seemed like a great idea.

I thought smoothie season was over – it rained all week long. But then today, the sun came out again and we have had perfect weather, so a smoothie didn’t feel so out of place.

It’s not the prettiest thing, I’ll give you that. But it is delicious and so good for you.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup almond milk
  • 1/3 cup pumpkin
  • 1/2 cup frozen raspberries or fruit of choice
  • 1 scoop vanilla protein powder
  • 1 large chard leaf, or a handful of spinach
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp ginger
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/4 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tablespoon oats
  • ice

Method:

Add ingredients to blender. Blend. Enjoy.

Hippo is sure going to.

2 thoughts on “Pumpkin Pie, healthy style

Leave a Reply

