Pack, pack, pack it up!

Tonight was the send off for the marathon; we heard tips from our coaches, traded race stories with each other, and ramped up the nervous energy.

This is real – on Sunday, I’m going to run 26.2 miles!! I don’t think it will be really real until the wall at 22 miles.

I chose to stay at hotel the night before the race with a TNT roommate; I got very lucky and my hotel is only a half block from the start! But that also means that I have to pack and bring a lot of crap to the hotel, not to mention the stuff I have want to have afterwards.

Part of me thinks it might have been better to stay at home in case I forgot something, but this way I had to come up with a packing list that includes every possible thing. I’m giving a bag to Alex to bring after with all the necessities.

For anyone out there who might run a marathon someday, near or far to where you live, this list might be helpful!

Hotel Bag List

  • TNT singlet with bib pinned
  • Emergency contact tag
  • Timing chip tag
  • Transportation bracelet
  • Shorts
  • Pink sports bra
  • Underwear
  • Pajamas
  • Long sleeve shirt
  • Sweats
  • Throw away shirt
  • Shoes
  • Socks
  • Toothbrush
  • Toothpaste
  • Sunscreen
  • Chapstick
  • Vaseline
  • Deodorant
  • Medication
  • Ibproufen
  • Brush
  • Hair ties
  • Bobby Pins
  • Watch
  • Visor
  • Spi-belt
  • Gels
  • Overnight oats +peanut butter + black tea (breakfast of champions!)

Post-Marathon List

  • Underwear
  • Comfy Bra
  • Tank top
  • Grey sweatshirt
  • Yoga pants
  • Flip flops
  • Ibproufen
  • Recovery drink
  • Peanut butter sandwich
  • Baby wipes

 Things to have at home

  • Casserole ready to go in the oven
  • Ice for ice bath

That’s a lot of stuff! I’m going to start packing tomorrow. The expo also opens tomorrow – I can’t wait to get all my stuff!! Eeeeee!

 

 

One thought on “Pack, pack, pack it up!

Leave a Reply

