Are You Ready?

When you read several running/healthy living blogs, marathons start seeming routine. An accomplishment to be sure, but nothing THAT crazy. I have to keep reminding myself that’s wrong – this is huge. Maybe after I’ve run 10 (if that ever happens), it won’t matter as much. But somehow, running 26.2 miles always seems pretty crazy to me. I know the blog has been overrun with marathon talk, whereas other bloggers barely mention races except for recaps, but I’m going to allow it since the first time is always a big deal. 😉

I have to give a shout out to all of my amazing friends that have supported me through this process – listening to me complain about my long runs, putting up with me having to leave early to sleep, always asking how the runs went, and how I’m feeling. To anyone reading this – I could not have done it without you.

People keep asking me if I’m ready and the true answer is, I’m as ready as I’m going to get. I’m carb loading (not intensely) even though I’m pretty sure I haven’t depleted glycogen stores as I haven’t been running. But hell if I’m going to give up an opportunity to eat bread, pasta, and potato chips. I need that potassium baby!

So you know what? Yeah, I’m ready! I’m ready to get out there and give it my all and represent TNT and LLS and make everyone that has been so amazing to me proud! I know it’s going to be an amazing experience and I cannot wait to get out there and push through my barriers and finish this. Forget pneumonia, forget not running, forget everything except hitting that finish line.

Look for pictures and a recap tomorrow!! And again, THANK YOU!!!!!

5 thoughts on “Are You Ready?

Leave a Reply

