A Collage Date

It’s Friday!

But I don’t have a from scratch recipe for you today. Last night was date night and I didn’t have time to whip anything up. Alex and I have date night once a week, and we trade off coming up with activities. Sometimes they involve going out, and sometimes, like last night, they involve staying home. Last night it was my turn, and I was excited about what I’d planned, but a little nervous Alex wouldn’t be into it.

We started with a 20 minute yoga session, and then had dinner. I had wanted to do a guided meditation right after yoga, but dinner had taken longer than I thought, so we just skipped straight along.

Butternut squash curry soup with quinoa from Ashley. Super delicious; I added greens because I never like to have a meal without a green, non starchy vegetable. The soup was thinner than I’d like because I didn’t have quite enough butternut squash but forgot to cut down the broth. The flavor was amazing though – so it just means I’ll have to make it again.

While we ate, we played Big Word Trivia, given to me for my birthday by my other good friend Ashley who lives in Seattle. There was a big word, and then four definitions. We each got a guess. You’d think that between the two of us, one of us would be right most of the time but no – routinely we both guessed the wrong answer.

I was most impressed that Alex knew the word prestidigitation. Apparently he learned it from playing video games.

After dinner was the real activity, the one I thought maybe he wouldn’t be down with – collage! National Novel Writing Month is coming up fast (next Tuesday) and I needed to get into a creative mindset, so we went through magazines and cut out things to make a collage that we think represents us. We didn’t get to the gluing part, but we found lots to cut out!

Hippo wants to make a collage too.

So that’s why I don’t have a from scratch recipe for you – but I know you’ll forgive me because I have a great salad recipe instead! I had a salad similar to this when I went to lunch with a coworker last week, and I knew I had to recreate it.

Squash and Nut Spinach Salad
Serves 2

Ingredients

  • 4-6 cups spinach
  • 2 cups cubed, roasted squash (we used butternut but you could use acorn, kabocha, or even sweet potato)
  • 10 Brussels sprouts, halved and roasted or sautéed
  • 1/2 cup spiced nuts (I used this recipe from Angela – they are addicting!)
  • Basic vinaigrette or salad dressing of choice

1. Roast the squash and Brussels sprouts – I did this beforehand and it was great to just pull them out of the fridge.
2. Combine ingredients, except 1/4 cup nuts, and toss with salad dressing.
3. Top with remaining nuts, season to taste, and enjoy!

Amazing the difference that light makes!

So my salad is huge – I’m pretty sure I used 4 cups of spinach just for mine but it was super delicious. You could add other root vegetables too, I’m sure. When I originally ordered the salad, it was topped with bleu cheese, which I’m sure would be extra delicious as well!

It’s almost the weekend and I’m stoked! Alex’s parents are coming into town and we are going to some of my favorite restaurants (and trying some new ones) and going to go to Cirque du Soliel tonight – it’s the opening night of the new show in SF!

Leave a Reply

