Turkish Breakfast is Sugar Hangover Cure

Lest anyone think I only eat birdseed (aka millet) and drink kale smoothies, I thought I’d show a sampling from cookie baking day with my sisters and mom this past weekend.

Maybe that’s only six cookies, but each cookie represents at least two dozen of each type. My contributions were :

I also made peppermint bark, but my mom stole it all (and then forgot about it in her freezer – the horror!)

The other cookies on the plate are the classic peanut butter kiss and Norwegian butter cookies called sandkaker. Super buttery and delicious. Perhaps Norway was making so many of these and that’s why they ran out of butter?

After a weekend in a sugar coma (sugar has protein, right?!), last night I wanted something savory, easy, and filling. I found it in menemen.

Menemen is a Turkish breakfast dish with onions, bell peppers, tomatoes, and eggs. We had it twice in Istanbul, and it was to die for. Unfortunately, I don’t have the copper pots it’s usually made in, but it still tasted delicious all the same. I also dumped too much of the tomato liquid out – next time I wouldn’t drain the canned tomatoes at all.

Served with bread and a salad, this made for the best meal. Breakfast for dinner was always my favorite night at home when I was a kid – perhaps it was because I spread cream cheese an inch thick on my toast? Who doesn’t love a good helping of cream cheese?

 

 

Anyway, back to the recipe. I adapted from a bunch of recipes I found on the internet – feel free to add your own flair.

Menemen for Dinner
Serves 2

Ingredients

  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1/2 onion, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 bell pepper, chopped
  • 2 tsp cumin
  • 1 tsp red pepper flakes
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 can diced tomatoes with liquid
  • 4 eggs, beaten
  • Bread for serving

Method

Heat the oil in a sauté pan on medium high heat. Add onions, garlic, and bell peppers; cook until softened and beginning to brown. Add spices and cook another two minutes. Add tomatoes, stir and allow the liquid to reduce by half. Add eggs and mix well. Cook until eggs are set. Alternately, you can crack the 4 eggs on top of the mixture, cover, and cook until set that way if you like runny yolks.

Serve with bread to soak up tomato liquid.

This meal was ridiculously comforting, perfect for a warm night where I didn’t feel like cooking much.

(Like the napkins in the background – my mom MADE them out of organic cotton – and they are two sided with an equally adorable pattern on the other side. They make great gifts….just sayin’.)

We ended the evening with Turkish tea. We’ve had the tea since we got back, but only recently friends gave us a Turkish teapot so we could finally make it! So fancy and complicated. But I like the yellow – a sunny addition to the kitchen.

Now we just need the right glasses and saucers. The tea is black, but I’ve never had trouble sleeping after drinking it. I’m not sure why, but I’ll take it! When we were visiting Turkey, we so loved the tea drinking ritual after meals, so I’m hoping we can incorporate it more.

Served with two amazing homemade chocolate pistachio biscotti from our friends Dave and Nicole and two peanut butter dough balls was the absolute best way to end the night.

One thought on “Turkish Breakfast is Sugar Hangover Cure

Leave a Reply

