Cookies and Capers (but not together!)

Well hello! Happy Tuesday! Here we are less than a week before Christmas and the only thing I’ve done to get into the holiday spirit is eat my weight in Christmas cookies. This weekend included a cookie exchange hosted by my wonderful friend Rachel; her apartment was also so warm and cozy and Christmas-y – I finally felt like I was in the spirit of things.

There were so many cookies and all of them were more delicious than the last. I contributed Ashley’s Mexican Hot Chocolate Chippers and Salted Cornmeal Sugar Cookies, and Mama Pea’s dough balls – although I must have added extra butter cause they spread more than usual so they were more flat than ball, but whatever.

The hostess with the mostess!

So yes, I gorged on cookies. And then Sunday we went out with some friends and I had a vegan cassoulet and then proceeded to order the “make your own s’mores” dessert and ate that. And then ate some more cookies later. It seems I’m on a sugar binge. I’m planning on trying to keep it in check the best I can but not try too hard until after the holidays. Hey, just being realistic here! Like I’m going to resist a salted mudslide cookie or a peanut butter blossom because I already had a cookie earlier. As if!

But of course, savory has a place too. It helps absorb the sugar in my stomach so that I can continue to eat cookies. Plus it’s delicious and you know, part of a well rounded diet.

Our fridge is a mish mosh of things right now and so last night when I threw this together I wasn’t expecting much, but hot damn it was good. I can’t wait to eat the leftovers. It’s not REALLY a recipe, but I’ll write down what I did for you anyway.

Beans and Grains with Capers

Ingredients

  • 3 cups cooked beans or 2 15 oz cans (I used dried …benas)
  • 1 cup dry farro
  • 1.5 cups frozen peas
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1/2 tablespoon garlic powder
  • 1 – 2 teaspoons red pepper flakes
  • 1 tablespoon capers

Method

  • If using dried, soaked beans, add them to a pot with enough water to cover and bring to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer from 35 minutes – 1 hour.
  • In a medium saucepan, combine farro with enough water to cover and big pinch of salt and bring to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer for 25 – 35 minutes until farro is chewy but not mushy.
  • Add peas to a small sauce pan with water and defrost.
  • When farro is done, combine with beans, peas, olive oil, garlic powder, red pepper flakes and capers. Add more garlic powder, red pepper and capers to taste.

I’m sure you could use any kind of bean and any kind of grain and any kind of vegetable. So really, this is just a template for you. It was so easy to make, really not requiring much attention until the end. If you are more organized than I am maybe you pre-cook beans and grains at the beginning of the week, in which case you can toss this all together in a moment’s notice.

Alright, I finally started the Hunger Games and my Kindle is calling to me, so until next time!

3 thoughts on “Cookies and Capers (but not together!)

Leave a Reply

