2011 in Review

As 2011 comes to a close, I thought I would revisit the goals (dreams with deadlines) I set at the beginning of the year.

So much has changed in the last 12 months. When I started the year, I was unemployed and traveling, planning on staying that way for at least 8 months until starting graduate school in the fall. Instead, I traveled for about a month…

Vancouver!

Portland!

Seattle!

Sprinkles Cupcakes Founder Candace Nelson, with Allie and I, in DC!

My lonely trip to Ithaca was worth it for this!

Cousin ❤

…and then found a job in March that I couldn’t resist applying to. So instead of being a full time vagabond, I’ve been a full time employee with a commute, trying to figure out where blogging, socializing, working, and living all intersect.

Without further ado, here are my 2011 goals in review.

  • Drink 6 glasses of water while I’m at home per day – Done. I can’t believe how crappy I feel when I’m not hydrated.
  • Attend one Om Shan Tea event (a tea house by our house) – Didn’t happen, and then they closed, but I think they are re-opening.
  • Read at least 3 classic novels – Done – One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest, Stranger in a Strange Land, and Love in the Time of Cholera
  • Run a half marathon – Done PLUS a marathon!

The half!

The full!

  • Deepen my yoga practice (either through more frequent home practice or attending classes) – Done. I practiced fairly consistently at home in 2011. My goal in 2012 involves attending classes to take it to the next level.

Hippo and I practiced together!

  • Meditate daily – Sort of. I was definitely more consistent.
  • Attend a poetry slam – Didn’t happen.
  • Write every day for about a half hour (either here or in a journal) – Getting there. National Novel Writing Month helped instill the habit.
  • Study German 5 hours a week – Okay 5 hours a week isn’t much, but the full time job really interfered with this.

I listened to a lot of German!

  • Plan and implement our garden on our back deck – Done! And now I know what to do even better for this year.

The garden!

  • Redecorate our bedroom to be more inviting – Not so much. But our living room is shaping up nicely.
  • Find a volunteer opportunity and do it – either a discrete one (one weekend, one event, etc) or something on going – Done! Volunteered with the SPCA

I’m proud of what I’ve accomplished in 2011. I set concrete goals that were manageable and realistic – which definitely helped me meet them. I hope to do the same for 2012!

One thought on “2011 in Review

Leave a Reply

