Creative Swap

No, I haven’t fallen off the face of a cliff, thank goodness.

I was on a five day business trip for work that turned into six days that turned into me coming home and falling asleep at 8 pm and sleeping for ten hours straight. Not that that’s any excuse for leaving you all hanging.

To those bloggers out there who manage to blog while traveling, I salute you. And to those who manage to do it while raising an infant (I’m looking at you Emily, Gina, and Ashley) – I bow to your expertise. I got back to my hotel room every night early enough to write but so fried that all I did was eat my takeout and go to sleep. So much for healthy living.

But my days started early (too early for the hotel gym to even be open) and I figured I needed the sleep more than I needed the exercise, considering the days were spent running around like a madwoman.

So here I am, back in sunny San Francisco (is it really January?) trying to figure out how I am going to make blogging a more regular part of my life. Part of the issue is I get very caught up in what other people are writing; Twitter has become my new best friend. Even though I might not post often, I’m always caught up on my Google reader.

It’s time for the priorities to swap – my blog has to come first, reader and Twitter have to come second. Otherwise I get too caught up in thinking and reading about all the cool things other people are doing.

To that end, I did some research on books that might help guide me. For others I know, and am envious of, creativity comes easily and often. Not so for me.

I’m the the first to admit that fear gets in my way often, particularly around creativity. And I have no trouble admitting that I’m a self help book junkie. And why not? Why not capitalize on the wisdom of others and use it as a guide? I’m down with that as long as it’s a process and not a dictation on how to live your life. I am going to pick up The Artist’s Way by Julia Cameron and Fearless Creating by Eric Maisel. If anyone has other suggestions, please throw them my way.

Here’s to a more creative 2012!

Leave a Reply

