The Forgotten Vegetable Salad

Before I went crazy at the Farmers’ Market last Saturday, I already had some wilting veggies in my crisper. My half head of cabbage and lone beet were quickly forgotten as I was overcome by the bright shiny greens, cheap organic Brussels sprouts, and delicious navel oranges.

But then as I was putting away my newfound treasures, I saw the cabbage and beet sitting there, lonely as could be, and knew I had to do something. So I whipped out Mark Bittman’s How to Cook Everything Vegetarian and came across a raw beet and cabbage salad and knew it was meant to be. I tweaked it a little to use up some additional lingering items in the fridge PLUS the recipe called for a navel orange!

Cabbage, Caper, and Beet Salad

Adapted from Mark Bittman’s recipe
Serves 2

Ingredients

  • 1 large beet, peeled and grated
  • ½ head napa cabbage, sliced thinly
  • 2 navel oranges
  • 1 tablespoon capers
  • 1.5 cups mung beans (or any other kind of beans), drained and rinsed
  • 3 tablespoons parsley, minced
  • 2 teaspoons olive oil
  • 2 teaspoons apple cider vinegar
  • 1 teaspoon Dijon mustard
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Method

  1. Combine all ingredients in a bowl and toss.
  2.  Hard, eh?
  3.  If you want more steps, you can mix the olive oil, vinegar, and Dijon first and then dress the salad after you’ve combined the other ingredients

One thought on “The Forgotten Vegetable Salad

Leave a Reply

