A New Way To Celebrate Valentine’s Day

Valentine’s Day is one week away. I am one of those people that loves Valentine’s Day. I’ve always loved it. In middle school, I anxiously awaited candy grams. In high school, I submitted anonymous love notes to my crushes to be published in our school-wide paper (ballsy, I know). When Valentine’s Day hit three months after Alex and I started dating again and he told me he hated it, I forced it on him for a week by making him a sappy card every day for seven days.

This isn't any more genuine than Valentine's Day!

Yes, it’s commercialized, yes it’s meaningless. But so is reality TV and people like it enough that more shows keep being spawned. My love of (fair trade) chocolate may be the only motivation to celebrate Valentine’s Day, but it’s good enough for me.

 

But if you, like my boyfriend, believe Valentine’s Day to be a crock and have no interest in celebrating with chalky candy hearts that turn pasty in your mouth and sweet-smelling flowers that give you a headache, here’s another way to frame it.

Some people say that Valentine’s Day is stupid because we should show our significant others that we love them everyday. Even more importantly than that, I think we should show ourselves love every day and too often we forget. So get into the spirit and treat yourself for a week!

Forget hearts and Cupid and boxes of candy. How about for the next seven days you show yourself some love? Each day between now and Valentine’s Day I’ll share something that you can do for yourself to make your day brighter. Each idea will have three levels – Spendy, Moderate, and Budget-Friendly so you can decide how big you want to go.

Enjoy some bodywork.

Most of us hunch over a computer all day or alternately, have jobs that are very physically demanding. Working out some of those kinks can have real mental and physical benefits – including reduced pain, fewer headaches, boosted immunity and less anxiety.

  • Spendy: Go to a spa and splurge on a professional massage.
  • Moderate: Buy a firm foam roller and find YouTube tutorials. It hurts so good.
  • Budget-friendly: Grab some massage oil and give your hands, feet, ears, and knees a massage. Use a tennis ball or golf ball to roll out tight muscles in your feet and glutes.

 

 

2 thoughts on “A New Way To Celebrate Valentine’s Day

  1. Great ideas! Yesterday I promised myself I would foam roll… and I didn’t. Not surprised though, since i suck at follow-through.

Leave a Reply

