Soup for an (almost) winter day

Happy Tuesday! We were supposed to have a stormy day, but the sun is shining (directly in my eyes actually) as I ride the train to work. I’m still holding out that we’ll get a little winter weather eventually.

My “kick-ass” plan for yesterday seems to have worked – work was productive, I caught up with some friends, and the recipe I made up for dinner is actually worth sharing. Saying I had a recipe for y’all yesterday was risky, as I’d never actually made the dish before. There was the possibility that instead of something delicious and healthy, you’d be seeing photos of delicious (and not so healthy) takeout.  But my creativity prevailed!

Today may be sunny, but yesterday was blustery and dark, which in my knit sweater and short sleeves, I wasn’t exactly prepared for. Thankfully the skies didn’t open and drown me out. But the point is, by the time I got home I was hankering for soup. The chipotle adds a kick of heat and the apple and butternut squash some sweetness.

The soup is very light, but I think mixing in some quinoa at the end, or adding white beans before blending would make it a bit heartier.

Butternut Squash, Apple, and Adobo Soup

Ingredients: 

  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 2 apples, chopped
  • 6 cups butternut squash, chopped (about 1 large squash)
  • 1 tablespoon adobo sauce
  • 5 cups water or vegetable broth
  • 2 teaspoons salt (more or less depending on water vs broth)
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon

Method:

  • Heat oil in large pot over high heat.
  • Add onion and garlic and stir constantly for three minutes, until onion is soft.
  • Add butternut squash, apples, chipotle sauce, salt, cinnamon and water/vegetable broth, cover, and bring to a boil.
  • Reduce heat and simmer 20 – 25 minutes, until squash and apple are soft.
  • Use an immersion blender, or transfer in batches to a regular blender, and blend until smooth.

Hot damn this soup was good. The perfect amount of heat, which can be tricky with adobo sauce. One time Alex made chili and didn’t read the recipe quite right and dumped and entire can of chilies into the soup. That was one hot and steamy night, let me tell you.

We ate this with kale chips (salt, pepper, nutritional yeast) and these crackers from Angela at Oh She Glows. The crackers are pretty hearty, so they were a complement to the light soup. I think the kale chips would have been good crinkled on top as well.

Our cats are very interested in people food at the moment. Hippo’s current favorites are cruciferous vegetables – broccoli, cauliflower, and Brussels sprouts. He’s sort of ridiculous.

Runty investigated my kale chips (before I caught her and shooed her away) but wasn’t too interested. I think she’s a die-hard carnivore. Interesting note: cats actually don’t need anything except meat to survive. Making them vegetarian can actually kill them.

After dinner, Julia came over and we caught up over tea. It was awesome to see her since I miss running with her every week! We’re both lukewarm on running at the moment, so I think we might become yoga buddies instead. 😉

With one day of awesomeoness down, I’m pretty stoked for today. Who knows what I’ll get done?!

Leave a Reply

