Intuitive Eating = Chocolate Coconut Bars

I am that woman who buys as much produce as possible from the reduced price bin. Brown spots can be cut off, bugs can be washed off, and bruises usually don’t ruin an entire piece of produce.

So on Wednesday, knowing we had no vegetables in the house, I stopped by the store on the way home and scoured the bin to find squash, mushrooms, and cauliflower. Score!

(Hippo can’t resist cruciferous vegetables).

I’m practicing being more intuitive with my eating, and on Wednesday night, I really wanted roasted vegetables and rye toast for dinner. Through work, I’d gotten a sample loaf of rye bread from a local bakery. Alex and I are always trying to find the darkest, densest bread we can find, so I was excited to try it.

So I tossed away the “I should have more protein” and “what if this bread has too much sodium?” and “where is your green vegetable?” and roasted up my veggies with olive oil, salt and nutritional yeast, slathered some Earth Balance on my toast and enjoyed my deliciously simple meal.

And then, inspired by this post by Everybody Loves Sandwiches, I made dessert, because who can resist chocolate and coconut, and a recipe that takes ingredients I already had on hand? I switched up her recipe a bit and veganized it but didn’t healthily it. There’s still buttery and sugary goodness. I used Kamut flour which made them especially dense and chewy.

They are best warm, I think, but still chewy and chocolatey and coconutty after they cool. And they’re not too sweet, so they won’t put you in a sugar coma.

Chewy Chocolate Coconut Bars

  • 1/2 cup Earth Balance
  • 1 tbsp chia seeds
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1 cup flour of choice (I used Kamut)
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp chocolate extract
  • 1/2 tsp almond extract
  • 1 cup coconut flakes
  • 1 cup dark chocolate chips
  • Sprinkle of Maldon Salt

Method: 

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  • Butter and flour a 8×8 baking pan. Line with parchment. Butter and flour the parchment.
  • Grind chia seeds in coffee grinder until a powder forms. Mix with 3 tablespoons of water and let sit until gooey, 3 – 5 minutes.
  • Meanwhile melt your Earth Balance in a pot over medium high heat.
  • When melted, beat EB with chia egg, sugar, and extracts.
  • Slowly add flour and salt and stir to combine.
  • Add coconut flakes and chocolate chips. Batter will be very thick.
  • Spread into prepared pan and sprinkle with maldon salt flakes.
  • Bake 20 – 25 minutes until coconut flakes are lightly brown. Cool on wire rack and slice into bars when cool.

I feel like these would pair especially well with a glass of almond milk and a good book. Speak of good books, any Hunger Games fans out there going to see the movie this weekend? We are going tonight and I can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

