Awkward Nicknames

Happy hump day! (I always want to say that but I don’t because it sounds moderately – okay completely – inappropriate. But I like that it’s the only day that has a nickname).

Speaking of awkward nicknames, mine used to be Wheezy Porkchop (or porkhead, depending on who you ask). This is because when I was little, I used to wheeze, and I once pulled a pork chop bone out of the garbage that was covered in coffee grounds and tried to eat it. Apparently, my younger self did not anticipate vegetarianism and was willing to go to great lengths for porky goodness.

Is there a better combination than lentils and beets? I think not. Well perhaps peanut butter and chocolate. Or peanut butter and banana. Or peanut butter and jelly….perhaps I should add peanut butter to lentils and beets and see what happens! Okay, so maybe there are better combos, but this is a pretty good one.

The sweetness of beets balances out the earthy lentils. Plus, when you use the greens, you have a well rounded dish and nothing to put in the compost bin. Love it!

I used walnut oil for the dressing because I’ve had it in the pantry since last summer and wanted to crack it open. I also like it because it’s more distinct than olive oil so you need less of it. But use whatever oil you’d like or have on hand.

Golden Lentil Salad  

Ingredients: 

  • 1/2 cup lentils
  • 1 – 1.5 cup(s) vegetable broth
  • 3 golden beets, trimmed
  • 2 teaspoons olive oil
  • Beet greens
  • 1/2 cup sun dried tomatoes
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 teaspoons walnut oil
  • Splash of white wine vinegar
  • Salt and pepper, to taste

Method: 

  • Preheat oven to 400 degrees.
  • Scrub beets and trim the greens. Add to casserole dish with 1/2 cup water. Cover, and roast for 40 – 60 minutes, depending on the size of your beets.
  • Add sun dried tomatoes to a cup of warm water and soak until soft, then mince.
  •  Add vegetable broth and lentils to a saucepan. Bring to a boil over high heat. Reduce heat to medium and simmer until lentils are soft but intact, about 30 minutes.
  • When the beets are almost done, heat olive oil over medium heat. Add garlic and pinch of salt and sauté until fragrant. Add sun dried tomatoes and cook for another 3 – 5 minutes.
  • Add the beet greens, and stir to coat with oil, garlic, and sun-dried tomatoes. When just wilted, add a few tablespoons of vegetable broth, cover, and reduce heat to low.
  • When beets are done, remove from the oven and peel and dice.
  • Toss beets, lentils, and beet greens with walnut oil, white wine vinegar and salt and pepper.

Now, doesn’t that just look delicious (sarcasm)? I promise to take more appetizing food pictures soon. Sometime I’ll cook when the sun isn’t down. Or I’ll actually get motivated and make a lightbox. Until then, I will do the best I can with fluorescent light and my camera. Maybe I should start using my phone and Instragam – that seems to make all pictures look better.

We had dessert while finishing the third season of Mad Men, and although I was tempted by his suggestion to get season 4 and watch it all night, I really wanted to go to the gym so we went to bed instead. But I really do need to start and finish season 4 ASAP!

2 thoughts on “Awkward Nicknames

Leave a Reply

