I’ve got a Lo-ve-ly Bunch of Beets…

…dee da la deee dee. There they are all standing in a row…”

Zazu? Lion King? Anyone?

Lion King is one of the first movies I remember seeing in theaters. I cried. And then I got the sound track on cassette tape and promptly listened to it on my awesome walkman 500 million times. But I still could never beat the Super Nintendo game – does anyone know how it ends?

Anyway, this is a post about using up beets. I used to be a great menu planner. I had lists of recipes and ingredients. I scoured (and still do) blogs and favorites delicious-looking recipes, or dog eared my cookbooks.

But lately, I’m in a throw it all in a pot and see how it works mood. And it’s working out okay! This was  thrown together after staring into my fridge for 10 minutes trying to figure out what to make for dinner.

Ingredients

  • 2 tsp olive oil
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 3 small beets, peeled and sliced
  • 1/2 cup vegetable broth, divided
  • 1 cup chickpeas
  • 2 cups mizuna greens

Sauce

  • 2 tablespoons white miso
  • 2 tablespoons tahini
  • 2 tablespoons water
  • 1 tablespoon ginger, minced
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • Soy sauce to taste (optional)

Method

  • Heat oil in sauté pan over medium high heat. Add garlic and cook until soft and beginning to brown.
  • Add beets and 1/4 cup vegetable broth. Reduce heat to medium and cover. Cook beets for 10 – 12 minutes, or until they are soft but still crisp.
  • Meanwhile, whisk together sauce ingredients. Add more water or soy sauce to achieve desired texture.
  • Add chickpeas and cook for another 3 – 5 minutes until heated through.
  • Add mizuna greens and remaining vegetable broth. Cover and cook for 3 – 5 minutes until greens are wilted.
  • Drain any excess broth, mix with sauce, and enjoy!

It was a light dinner because our dessert was insanely rich coconut hot chocolate, which we poured into thermoses and took to Coit Tower for date night.

Yes, it was raining, but rainy dates are fun sometimes. You have to huddle under the umbrella together.

Plus the view is so pretty.

There’s no real recipe for the hot chocolate, but it’s safe to say it was indulgent! It started with coconut milk, cocoa powder, chocolate chips, cinnamon, chili powder, and cayenne.

Then we tasted it and decided it needed a little bit of sugar to offset the bitterness cocoa powder. So I went to pull out some maple syrup when I saw we had chocolate sauce from my birthday party last summer. Chocolate + Sugar = exactly what we needed. It made a very lovely, thick, spicy chocolate drink. Healthy? No (although the syrup was organic and coconut milk is all kinds of good for you).

We poured it into thermoses and off we went!

Alex and I have a date night because it’s easy (at least for us) to slide into the, “let’s watch three episodes of Mad Men tonight” and then go to bed. Or I browse Pinterest while he plays video games. And while that’s totally fine – and one of the benefits of living together – we also want to make sure we’re doing new and fun things together. So once a week, we have a date night. We trade off who plans it and it’s always fun to see what the other comes up with!

On that note, I’m off to enjoy my coconut milk and peach smoothie (don’t ever buy a half gallon of coconut milk unless you want it to end up in everything).

Leave a Reply

