CSA Check Up

We’re rolling in vegetables over here. There’s a learning curve to having a CSA – we’re still getting used to it. So far nothing has gone to waste, I’m proud to say. But it as an adjustment. There are veggies in every meal and every snack.

I’ve roasted vegetables and covering them in MMMM sauce.

We’ve eaten a lot of salad.

I found out that grilled beets are amazing. Also, I can’t get enough miso. Miso, tahini, and lemon juice whisked together is my new favorite sauce.

I also discovered the joy of fresh fava beans! Alex and I first had fava bean dip when we were in Turkey last summer and we fell in love. I’ve purchased it a few times here, but the packaged stuff just doesn’t measure up.

Last week we got young fresh fava beans in our CSA box; I didn’t end up  making dip but I did enjoy cooking with them! The beans in our box were young enough that we could trim them and eat the pod. My favorite preparation yet is chopping in bite sized pieces and steaming for 5 minutes. While they’re steaming, sauté some garlic and onion in olive oil with salt (or if you have a CSA box green garlic and leeks).  When the favas are done steaming, add them to the onion garlic mixture, toss to coat and let the flavors mingle.

Serve with a grain and another green, and it’s a tasty, light spring-y meal.

Last night I decided to shell the remaining beans and make a farro lava salad.

Farro Fava Salad
serves 4

Ingredients

  • 1 cup farro
  • 2.5 cups water or vegetable broth
  • 2 teaspoons olive oil
  • 1 leek
  • 1 stalk green garlic
  • 1 cup mushrooms, sliced
  • 1 cup shelled fava beans
  • 2 heaping cups greens (I used mizuna)
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 2 tablespoons balsamic vinegar
  • 2 teaspoons stoneground mustard
  • Chopped parsley, to garnish
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Method:

1. Combine faro and water/broth in a saucepan and bring to a boil. Reduce heat, cover, and simmer, 15 – 30 minutes depending on how chewy you want your faro.

2. Meanwhile, heat oil in sauté pan over medium high heat. Add leeks, garlic, and a pinch of salt. Cook until soft, 5 – 7 minutes.

3. Add beans and mushrooms, sauté until mushrooms have softened and beans are warm. Add the greens and cook until greens wilt. Remove from heat.

4. Whisk together olive oil, mustard, and vinegar. [Or use vinaigrette/salad dressing of choice – lemon would also be lovely]

5. When farro is done, add to the vegetable mixture and stir to combine. Toss with dressing and garnish with parsley.

A perfect light dinner after a lazy day of lounging around the house. It would be a great weeknight meal as well, because it was fairly quick and simple to make.

I’ve heard great things about grilling fava beans, so that’s the next thing I want to try with them! I hope we get more in our CSA next week. I was reviewing the newsletters from last year, and it looks like we can expect to be enjoying beets for many months to come. I’ve some ideas on what to do with them, but if you know of anything beety and delicious, let me know!

4 thoughts on “CSA Check Up

Leave a Reply

