Turning Life into an RPG for 6 Weeks

Well hello. Fancy seeing you here. I’m just dropping in because apparently I’ve been on vacation. Except I didn’t go anywhere really; but the sun has been shining and there have been friends to see and ice cream to eat. And my computer doesn’t like ice cream (she’s more of a pie kind of gal) so we’ve been seeing a little less of each other.

In reality, I’ve been cheating on my laptop with my iPhone, spending my train rides to work aimlessly and hopelessly browsing Facebook, Hootsuite, Instagram, Reader….and doing absolutely nothing productive. With some reflection and introspection, I’ve recommitted to my laptop and thus not wasting hours of my day lamenting the fact that I must not follow enough people on Instagram because there isn’t a new photo even though I last checked over five minutes ago.

So here I am. And I have this great recipe to share. It’s green, and healthy, and light, and springy and delicious. And I even took some decent photos. But then I grabbed the camera without grabbing the cord so I can’t download the photos and I didn’t want to wait to post because inertia is a terrible thing and the next thing you know it will be six months from now and I’ll be apologizing for not being around again. We couldn’t have that.

Instead, I decided to share with you that I joined the 6 week Nerd Fitness Challenge! It’s super nerdy – you pick a class and a race and assign attribute points (think World or Warcraft or any other RPG and if you don’t know what those are, don’t even look them up – your life is better without them). The crux of the challenge: set 3 diet/fitness goals and one life goal and attack them with fervor for six weeks. You grade yourself, participate in the message boards, and generally try to kick your own ass for 6 weeks.

I’m realizing that I’m an all or nothing kind of girl; when I’m relaxing, my workouts are short, my meals are rich, and I spend a lot of time day dreaming while staring out the window. But when I’m on, I’m making 3 kinds of nut butter, nut/date snack bars, almond milk, vegetable broth and shepherd’s pie all at once while planning out the next five days of social plans (that was Sunday). For the last month, I was in relax mode and finally I was ready to step it up and cram my life with plans and to do lists. Maybe I need to find more balance, but at this very moment, the system works so I’m not going to mess with it.

All of that is to say that it’s the perfect time for this six week challenge! I’m ready for a challenge. But setting goals that are achievable in six weeks is a bit tough. Here’s what I’ve come up with so far. I need to narrow them down and choose by tomorrow.

Diet/Fitness Goals

1. Reduce sugar consumption by enjoying dessert only once a week [need to clarify what counts as “dessert”]
2. Run a 5k in under 24 minutes
3. Practice yoga for an hour twice a week
4. Bike to work on May 10 (35 miles)
5. Complete a chin up
6. Push up challenge
7. Run a 7 minute mile
8. Eat 80+ grams of protein per day

Life Goals

1. Blog every day
2. Do something that scares me every day  [would need to define what scares me and how that could manifest]
3. Meditate for 15 minutes per day
4. Reorganize my closet
5. Sign up for Ayurvedic cooking class [$$$]

 Whether I go with Life Goal #1 or not, I’ll definitely be blogging my way through this challenge! I look forward to sharing my finalized goals with y’all tomorrow.
Leave a Reply

