The Ultimate Spring Tartine

Packing for a trip without a list throws me into such a tizzy that I always write out what to pack before I even start. But packing lists are only effective if you look at them. Tonight I’ll travel to New York without a laptop charger, headphones, or a raincoat because I packed hastily last night and this morning, in order to fit in a run last night, the gym this morning, plus making dinner, breakfast, and travel snacks, while lamenting over the fact that our fridge is broken.

Even as the frozen vegetables melt inside their bags, we get another CSA box today – Alex is going to be rolling in the veggies while I’m gone. Or I’m going to come home on Sunday and have a lot of soup and stir fry to make.

I just finished using up the old CSA box last night. I grilled up the last of the fava beans and tossed them with some salt, pepper, and lemon juice. Amazing. I served them along side a tartine with avocado hummus, grilled asparagus, and toasted pepitas. Best meal ever. Last night was my second night having it for dinner this week.

The combo came to me when I saw this sweet pea hummus and asparagus tartine on Choosing Raw and this asparagus avocado tartine on 101 Cookbooks. Hummus? Avocado? Asparagus? Plus the most amazing whole wheat sourdough I’ve ever tasted? Put your hands together, folks.

Ultimate Spring Tartine

Serves 1 + additional hummus

For avocado hummus

  • 2 cups chickpeas
  • 2 garlic cloves
  • 2 tablespoons tahini
  • 1 lemon, zested and juiced
  • 1 teaspoon cumin
  • 1 avocado
  • 1 teaspoon salt

For Sandwich

  • 1 thick slice of crusty sourdough bread
  • 1 garlic clove
  • 5 – 6 asparagus spears
  • 2 teaspoons olive oil
  • 1 – 2 tablespoons raw pepitas
  • Salt and pepper
  • Red pepper flakes

To prepare hummus: 

  • Pulse chickpeas, garlic, tahini, lemon juice and cumin in the food processor .
  • Add avocado, salt, and lemon zest and process until smooth. Add a bit more tahini, water, or olive oil to reach desired consistency.

To prepare Asparagus:

  • Preheat grill to medium high heat.
  • Spritz bread with a  bit of olive oil and rub with one clove of garlic.
  • Toss asparagus spears with olive oil and a bit of salt and pepper. Grill for 5 minutes until beginning to soften (could be less depending on the size of your asparagus).
  • Add bread to grill, olive oil side down. Rotate asparagus and grill an additional two minutes.
  • Meanwhile, toast pepitas with a bit of salt in a skillet. They will puff up and get crunchy.

To assemble sandwich

  • Slather slice of bread with avocado hummus. Arrange asparagus spears. Sprinkle with pepitas and red pepper flakes.
  • Revel in the springy deliciousness.

I prepared the fava beans alongside the asparagus on the grill and then tossed them with some salt, pepper, and a touch of lemon juice before serving. My oh my this meal was delicious. So glad we are getting more fava beans in the CSA this week! Although I am going to be out of town all weekend and then we have dinner plans Monday and potentially Tuesday, so I’m going to have to find perhaps a freezable use for the favas (if our freezer ever gets fixed and we stop living out of coolers).

Time to bust out some work before heading off on the redeye this evening!

4 thoughts on “The Ultimate Spring Tartine

Leave a Reply

