A Thought on Community

Each of us is a being in himself and a being in society, each of us needs to understand himself and understand others, take care of others and be taken care of himself.
~Haniel Long

I’m at a philanthropy retreat that I helped plan this weekend with some really amazing folks. It’s a big part of my life that I don’t often share because it’s messy and weird and complicated and funky – but it’s also beautiful and inspiring and honest and raw.

The quote above is resonating with me at the moment for what we are trying to do here; we can’t create social change alone. We can’t support ourselves alone. We are talking a lot this weekend about how to build community, what it looks like, how to take care of each other and ourselves. I don’t think I’ve ever been on a planning committee that asks, “what do you need from us for support this weekend?” more than this one, and I hope to bring that question “what can I do for you?” to real life on Monday.

How will you show someone you care today?

One thought on “A Thought on Community

  1. It’s great for me to hear you value this kind of discussion! I have a poem or an essay or a “writing” of some sort that is titled ” I stand by the door.” and it speaks to the nature of what you are talking about here-I will find it and give you a copy-thank you for sharing about “caring.”

Leave a Reply

