Assumptions, Trust and Truth (and food)

A few more quotes for you. These days are long, heavy, busy, wonderful, messy, delightful,  and of course inspiring and thought provoking. I don’t have a lot of mental energy left to write something profound so I’m letting someone else do the talking for me.

And just because I usually talk about food and I do think food is an important part of any event  – people ALWAYS remember terrible food – I just wanted to give a shout out to the Edith Macy Conference Center. The food here is fresh and light, and I don’t think I’ve ever had such a variety of vegetables in one meal. (My stomach is not sure how it feels about the onslaught of steamed/braised vegetables). I love that the afternoon snacks are deviled eggs and dried fruit or hummus and house made toasted pita chips – right alongside the yogurt covered pretzels, chocolate croissants, and gummy bears; gotta have something for everyone! Anyway, just wanted to do that because I think it rocks when you go to a conference with good food.

On to the words of wisdom…

Begin challenging your own assumptions.  Your assumptions are your windows on the world.  Scrub them off every once in awhile, or the light won’t come in.  ~Alan Alda

Few delights can equal the mere presence of one whom we trust utterly.  ~George MacDonald

A thing may happen and be a total lie; another thing may not happen and be truer than the truth.  ~Tim O’Brien, The Things They Carried

I am challenging a lot of my own assumptions here about myself and about philanthropy and social/racial/economic justice. An eye opening experience to be sure.

I can only do that because I’m able to trust the other attendees and know that I can be super messy and weird and not make any sense and that’s totally acceptable.

The Things They Carried is one of my favorite books (time for a re-read, I think!) and I think this quote speaks to the fact that our truth is often fluid and unclear and messy. Acknowledging that can make moving forward a lot easier.

I promise to have a real post tomorrow when I’m at the airport!

Leave a Reply

