What shall I read today?

I am back in (surprisingly) sunny San Francisco and so happy to be home. The retreat I was at was super full and rich, but I need a few more days to process before I can write more about it.

So instead, I thought I’d share a few books I read recently that I really enjoyed.

Women’s Bodies, Women’s Wisdom by Dr. Christine Northrup

I think all women should read this; it’s all about the mind-body connection and how to heal from the inside out. It’s written by an MD who practiced for many years, and I love that it recognizes the need for traditional medicine but emphasizes more natural method.

Eating Animals by Johnathan Safran Foer

Safran Foer does an amazing job in this book of presenting facts in a way that is startling and disturbing. He writes in a very matter of fact way about the things he sees in his journey to vegetarianism, and rather than come off as callous. This is a no bullshit book about factory farming and the effect it’s having on our food system. As a word of caution, the descriptions are quite graphic. I recommend it to anyone out there who eats…so pretty much everyone.

Nourishing Wisdom by Marc David

My nutritionist sent me this; it’s not a diet book about what to eat. It’s a book about HOW to eat intuitively. I like it because the author isn’t judgmental and has gone through his own journeys with food. Each chapter ends with questions to help the reader create a better, healthier, more loving relationship with food. I love that it talks about the cultural value of food and how food is more than the nutrients in it.

Now I need a new book! I’ve gotten some recommendations but if anyone reading out there has any, I’d love to hear them!

Leave a Reply

