Grilled Banana and Strawberry Breakfast Tacos

In college, I only had class on Fridays for one quarter. Out of four years. While this was amazing, it also set me up for major disappointment for the real world, when people actually go to work on Fridays.

It’s not as if I just sat around on Fridays, although I was never quite as productive as I could have been, since I still remember doing homework on the weekends. But mostly I did chores and ran errands, and volunteered for various extracurriculars. But I rarely had to be anywhere at a certain time.

After one year in the real world of working Fridays, I hit the jackpot when I got a job for a year and a half that was only 80% – and I had every Friday off. Unfortunately, while I liked the people I worked with, I could do the job in my sleep and I quit after a year and a half.

And now here I am. A regular Friday worker. As incentive to get up and motivated, I like to make something fun for breakfast. Twice during the work week I eat eggs and toast for breakfast. And twice I (usually) eat oatmeal. Friday is a wildcard; I don’t usually workout in the mornings so I have a little bit more time.

Today I combined a variation Ashley’s 5-ish minute pan bread + grilled bananas + grilled strawberries + peanut butter to create perfection. I’m going to be real. This probably isn’t a recipe. But because I’ve never made pancakes or crepes, I’m writing it out for the small percentage of us that are newbs in the breakfast department.

Grilled Strawberry Banana Breakfast Tacos
Serves 2

Ingredients

  • Oil of choice
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup flour of choice
  • 1/2 almond milk
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1/2 tbsp cinnamon
  • 1 banana, cut into quarters
  • 2 large strawberries, sliced
  • Nut butter of choice

Method

  • Whisk together egg, flour, milk, vanilla, and cinnamon until there are no clumps.
  • Heat oil in pan over medium high heat.
  • Scoop 1/4 cup of the mixture onto the pan and cook 3 – 4 minutes. Flip and cook another 1 – 2 minutes until edges start to turn up.
  • Remove the pancake-ish thing and continue three more times to create four cakes.
  • On the third cake, add sliced bananas around the perimeter of the pan. When you flip the pancake, flip the banana as well. Remove pancake and bananas from the pan before adding the batter for the fourth.
  • During the fourth, add the sliced strawberries to the perimeter and flip when you flip the cake. 
  • When done, spread with peanut butter and top with strawberries and bananas.

Holy deliciousness. I ate mine taco style. Alex ate his with a knife and fork. I can imagine that if you were going extra decadent, syrup would be amazing here.

Who needs dessert when I have meals like this – with no added sugar?

Off to tackle the last day of the week!

2 thoughts on “Grilled Banana and Strawberry Breakfast Tacos

Leave a Reply

