25 Things I’ve Learned in 25 Years

It was my birthday yesterday. I spent it hiking, wine tasting, and camping with some of my favorite people in the whole world.


Here are some of the wonderful people I spent my weekend with.

Today, I spent some time reflecting on what I’ve learned over the past 25 years and came up with the list below.

And, of course because it’s my birthday, I made a home-made It’s It ice cream sandwich that happened to be vegan and wheat free since I used what I had in the house. “Recipe” and assembly instructions at the end.

25 things I’ve Learned in 25 Years

  1. Cats make every day brighter.
  2. Chocolate and peanut butter are vital food groups.
  3. I cannot bake a loaf of bread to save my life.
  4. You don’t actually need all of your toenails.
  5. I’ve never met a farmers’ market I didn’t like.
  6. Blogging is harder than I thought it would be.
  7. Most things can be made from scratch. (See above.)
  8. I’d rather meet a celebrity chef than a movie star.
  9. The Internet can bae a wonderful and dangerous thing.
  10. Sometimes the sweetest moments are the silliest ones.
  11. Eating emotionally isn’t always such a bad thing. Dessert can bring a lot of comfort. (See homemade It’s It recipe below…)
  12. What’s “cool” is very subjective.
  13. The most rewarding way to get a Christmas tree is to cut it down, haul it up a hill, and strap it to the top of the car.
  14. This too shall pass. It’s never as bad as you think.
  15. My level of serenity is inversely proportional to my level of expectation.
  16. Sometimes it takes a long time to figure things out, with many detours along the way.
  17. I love to dance.
  18. Velveeta makes the best nachos.
  19. It can feel just as good to take care of someone else as it does to be taken care of.
  20. Always ask for help if you need it, and even sometimes when you think you don’t.
  21. I really like waking up before the sun comes up and going to bed early.
  22. Wear layers.
  23. Stay present and mindful: the story playing in my head is never 100% accurate and it prevents me from listening.
  24. Not everyone communicates love, friendship, and support in the same way as I do. This does not mean they don’t love me.
  25. A good knife makes all the difference in the kitchen.

To make/assemble your at home vegan/wheat free homemade It’s It ice cream sandwich:

Sandwich a scoop of the ice cream between the cookies. Dip in the magic shell sauce. Flip and cover other side. Freeze for one hour.

2 thoughts on “25 Things I’ve Learned in 25 Years

  1. That dessert was amazing. Also, if there’s one thing I’ve learned in the almost 7 years I’ve known you, its that showing compassion is always more important than offering solutions.

Leave a Reply

