Where’s My Roadmap?

As a kid, I could never quite decide what I wanted to be when I grew up. Some afternoons, I stood in front of my unruly group of stuffed animals, trying desperately to teach them their multiplication tables. Other days, I snuck through the neighborhood yards stealing flowers with the intent of practicing my floral design skills. Still others I spent pretending to be a private investigator.

Fast forward to college. I still don’t know what I want to do. I’m an English major that doesn’t want to teach and doesn’t quite have the dedication to attempt writing full time. Mostly, I chose English because I love to read; practicality didn’t really factor into the equation. The English program at Cal Poly had an abnormal amount of free electives (like 8 or 9 classes, compared to most engineering programs which had none) so I took several psychology classes. I thought for a time I’d get a master’s in psychology. Maybe I was burnt out on school or I wasn’t quite into psychology enough, but even though I took the GRE, and applied, I declined one interview request and deferred and ultimately rejected one acceptance.

I’ve held several jobs since graduating; I’ve planned events, answered phones, recruited substitute teachers, written blog posts, implemented marketing programs, just to name a few. But something was always nagging at me – something wasn’t quite right.

Last weekend, I decided to take the beginning steps towards the next big thing: getting my master’s degree in nutrition. Before I can even apply for an actual graduate program, I have about five million pre-reqs to take. They are classes like general chemistry, organic chemistry, biochemistry, microbiology….remember when I said I was an English major? This is not going to be easy!

It’s pretty terrifying to think about going back to school for a lot of reasons – homework, different schedules, completely new material all the time, no full-time, steady income. I’m leaving my current position and I’m going to miss the people I work with like crazy; they’ve been huge inspirations and mentors to me and now I’m going into the abyss where if you don’t ask for help, you don’t get it!

But I’m ready for a change and a challenge. I’m ready to shake up my very safe, work 40 hours per week, only read for fun life. I’m ready to take advantage of office hours, raise my hand and ask “dumb” questions, and generally face the fact that there is a lot of shit out there that I don’t know. I wasn’t overly academic in college; I did well enough but this time around, I plan to dominate my classes. Okay, dominating organic chemistry might be hard, but I’m going to go all out to try. People, I’m going to make flashcards, I’ll get a tutor, and I’ll stay up until my eyes gloss over doing labs. I might need to do all of this to simply pass, but I’m hoping I’ll be able to kick a little bit of ass.

So that’s my new life plan. It’s pretty crazy. And I don’t know if I’ll believe it until I’m doing it. But I’m excited and I can’t wait to share the ups and downs here with you!

2 thoughts on “Where’s My Roadmap?

  1. CONGRATS!!! You are amazing and I know you will rock all your classes. It is wonderful to see someone go after what they want, even if it may not be the easiest thing to do. We should all be so lucky to figure out what we really want to do with our lives and then have the courage to go after it.

Leave a Reply

