When Life Gives you Carrot Greens

For the longest time I bought my carrots at the grocery store, so I never had to contend with carrot greens. They always seemed like they belonged in a Bugs Bunny cartoon and not my kitchen.

When I started getting greens in our CSA box, I was flummoxed. What was I to do with these coarse, springy greens? I’m loath to admit that the first few times I just trimmed the carrots and tossed the greens in the compost.

But then I got to thinking that I bet they’d taste really good. So then I made this recipe and since I’ve made it three times. The first time I didn’t actually include the carrots, but the second time I included them and they’re a tasty addition so I recommend them.

Smoky Carrot Greens and Millet
Serves 2

  • 1 tablespoon olive oil, divided
  • 1 bunch carrot greens, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 3 medium to large carrots, sliced
  • 1/2 cup millet
  • 1 1/2 cups vegetable broth or water with bullion
  • 1 – 2 cups cherry tomatoes
  • 2 teaspoons smoked paprika
  • Salt and pepper, to taste
  1.  Preheat oven to 400 degrees.
  2. Toss carrots in 1/2 tablespoon olive oil and spread on cookie sheet. Roast for 40 minutes.
  3. Combine millet and broth in medium saucepan. Bring to a boil. Cover and reduce to a simmer for 20 minutes. Let sit, covered for 20 minutes and fluff with a fork.
  4. Add cherry tomatoes to bowl you tossed the carrots in. Swirl tomatoes around until they are coated with oil. Roasted in oven or toaster oven for 10 – 15 minutes until soft.
  5. Meanwhile, heat remaining oil over medium heat. Add garlic and sauté until fragrant.
  6. Add greens and smoked paprika, and stir to coat.
  7. Cook until soft and wilted.
  8. Add millet, tomatoes, and carrots and stir to combine. Cook a few more minutes to combine flavors.
  9. Serve hot.

A little messy looking but delicious!

I’ve made it with carrot greens and chard and it’s delish with both. I’m sure any green would work. The carrot greens are definitely grassy and chewier than others but I like it!

2 thoughts on “When Life Gives you Carrot Greens

    • Hi! Thanks so much for this; I just looked it up and it appears that they ARE potentially poisonous. When I originally searched “how to cook carrot greens” nothing came up about it, but upon doing more research, there is quite a controversy about whether they are toxic or not. I’d steer clear and make it with chard instead!

Leave a Reply

