A Grocery Store Hiatus

Despite a fridge full of produce from our CSA pick up on Thursday, Alex and I ate out a lot this weekend. Partly because of logistics and partly because of laziness. But because we still had a fridge packed full of fruits and vegetables, plus a freezer and pantry full of odds and ends, I decreed this “no shopping week.” I won’t be going to the grocery store at all and will make do with what we have in the fridge and pantry for breakfast, lunch and dinner. 

I’m going to share those meals here because I always think it’s interesting to see how other people get creative in the kitchen. Now don’t misunderstand me – it’s not barebones living over here. I had chia seeds in my oatmeal just this morning. But I don’t have some of the normal things I cook with like avocados or onions or citrus. I’m not always ultracreative in the kitchen and I sometimes tend to overcomplicate things. For a creative whiz that loves simple food, I’m sure it will seem like I have a huge bounty in my crisper drawers. But for someone who lives by meal planning and recipes, this is a learning experience! 

And thankfully, last night’s experiment turned out well! It’s based on this Winter Millet Salad by Green Kitchen Stories. Although I randomly had a pomegranate that I picked up from a co-worker’s tree the other day, I was out of avocado and definitely didn’t have any Romanesco broccoli. So this is what I came up with. (I do recommend adding avocado if you have it though – I think it’d make the dish a little richer.) 

Image

Butternut, Pomegranate, and Millet Salad
Serves 4

1 cup raw millet 
2 small butternut squash
1 cup pecans and walnuts 
2 handfuls spinach
1 pomegranate, seeds

Parsley Dressing
1 bunch parsley, finely chopped
4 cloves garlic, very finely chopped
2 tablespoons apple cider vinegar
3-4 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
salt and pepper 

Preheat your oven to 400 F.

Peel your butternut squash, trim the ends, and cut in half lengthwise. Scoop out the seeds and chop into approximately 1 inch cubes. Toss with oil and sea salt and roast for 20 – 30 minutes until soft and brown around the edges. During the last ten minutes of roasting, add the nuts to the oven and toast them. Watch carefully so they don’t burn. 

Meanwhile, rinse the millet and put in a small pot with 2 cups of water. Bring to a boil; lower the heat and simmer for 15 minutes until the millet is soft and the water is gone. 

While everything is cooking, remove the pomegranate seeds. (Not sure how to get the seeds out? Check out this tutorial.) Chop the spinach. Combine the dressing ingredients.

When the millet is done, toss with the dressing in a large bowl. Add the butternut squash, nuts, pomegranates, and spinach. Season with salt and peper and combine gently and thoroughly. 

Image

Image

Alex, and Hippo, give this dish a thumbs up so it must be a winner. 

Today’s breakfast was oatmeal with chia seeds, cinnamon, walnuts and a dash of honey. Plus an apple. I didn’t take a photo because there are plenty of oatmeal pictures on the internet and I think we all know what it looks like! We’re having leftover millet salad for lunch today and who knows what will happen for dinner! 

 

Leave a Reply

