Seared Broccoli Pasta Deliciousness

I finally went to the grocery store last Friday after a week of having not gone and it was awesome – it was exciting to replenish our nut stashes and have a meal plan for the week again. 

But I do have one more recipe(ish) to share with you from the “use what’s in my fridge challenge.” 

When I first went veg, I made these pan seared green beans all the time. Because they are delicious and spicy and quick to make. 

For this recipe, I used that same technique, except with broccoli, and tossed it with pasta, a little more olive oil, and topped with chopped, toasted almonds. 

Image

Seared Broccoli Pasta Deliciousness (the name of my iPhoto event)
Adapted from Vegetarian Times
Serves 2

Ingredients

  • 2 cups broccoli crowns, chopped
  • 2 tbsp canola oil 
  • 5 cloves garlic 
  • 1/2 tsp red pepper flakes
  • 1.5 cups dry brown rice pasta
  • 2 teaspoons olive oil 
  • 2 tablespoons almonds, toasted and chopped
  • Salt and Pepper to taste

Method

  1. Cook pasta according to package directions. Drain and set aside. 
  2. Heat large pan over medium heat for 2 minutes. Add the oil and turn heat up for 30 seconds. Add broccoli and cook 3 – 4 minutes, until broccoli is beginning to brown.
  3. Add garlic and red pepper flakes and cook for another minute. 
  4. Add cooked pasta and stir to combine. Cook until heated through. 
  5. Remove from heat, toss with  olive oil and top with almonds. 

Tasty, satisfying, and comforting, which I felt like I was really needing last week. 

Alex and I celebrated our 7 year anniversary by redecorating our bedroom – so my workouts for the weekend included several hours of painting and lots of shopping (hey walking and carrying bags counts as  a workout, right?!) 

It’s not quite done yet but I hope to post “almost done” sometime this week! 

Leave a Reply

