An Awkward Hello

Ahem. 

*Peers around.*

*Brushes at cobwebs.*

I’m not sure if anyone is still here, but if you are, hello there. 

Finals and the holidays took quite a bit more energy than I planned. I usually have my holiday shopping (including wrapping) done by the end of September, and this year I was shopping and crafting just days before Christmas Eve. Oops! 

Image

 

Image

Then the holidays were upon us and we visited with my family for a while, which was wonderful, and then went to Canada with Alex’s family. As Alex and his family took to the slopes, I took to the cross-country ski track, where there’s nothing but long stretches of open air and time to contemplate 2013. 

Image

Part of my 2013 contemplations included this blog and what my first post of the year was going to be. Honestly, I thought it was going to be a “it’s time to say my goodbyes” post. It’s no secret that I haven’t been into the blogging groove nearly as much. 

Image

So as I thought about this, I read a book on vegan fitness training. I’m not vegan (hello ice cream and runny eggs and buttered bread) but I was just curious about the nutrition and training advice that the book would offer. 

Image

It felt especially fitting because Alex and I are starting to train for a marathon in June (his first) and I thought maybe I’d come across some great new nutrition ideas to fuel our running. The book is great in some ways, but it includes a lot of recipes for coconut water and maca and other “superfoods.” I was encouraged until I got to my grocery co-op and saw that maca is $26 a bag. 

Uh, what?

My cart sailed on by. 

I checked on Amazon and it’s a much cheaper $17. And since I’ve seen in abound in recipes as of late, I’ll probably break down and buy a bag soon enough. But as a regular part of training? I’m more interested in using for Superfood Haute Chocolate from My New Roots than incorporating into my daily smoothie. 

And even though coconut water seems to have a lot of awesome benefits, I cringe at the thought of bringing more tetrapak into our house. I just sip from my regular ol’ water bottle and wonder if I’m really missing something. 

So as I was wondering if I had anything to share, and I realized that using this as a way to explore ways to stay sane between marathon training, chemistry and biology, and wedding planning IS maybe valuable to folks out there. Sure there are a ton of other blogs out there that share similar information, but I read like six hundred trashy romance novels while on vacation with essentially the same plot and I still liked them all, so I’m guessing there’s room for me. 

Let’s be real – this isn’t the first time I’ve written a “I don’t know what I’m doing post.” But the truth is, I haven’t known what to do. And now I have a better idea about what I want to write about and what I don’t want to write about and what things might be useful to share. So that’s what you get. I’m big on false starts, so hopefully this is the real one! 

Leave a Reply

