Smoky Coco(nutty) Chocolate Chip Cookies

Do you read Joy the Baker? If not, you should. I mean, not only is she totally cool and hilarious, her recipes are freaking amazing. I may have mentioned here that I’m not much of a baker. So I stick to most of Joy’s non-oven related recipes, and it all turns out very well. But when I saw these smoked sea salt, pistachio and dark chocolate cookies, I couldn’t turn away.

So I made them. They were freaking delicious. And then I had the idea that maybe I could veganize them, just for kicks. This has actually never worked for me. Usually, I end up saying “there is a reason there is butter and an egg in this.”

But this time, it worked. And they were gobbled up at the cookie party I took them to…in December. Confession time: I intended to share this much sooner. But somehow December, January, and February flew by and here I am sharing a cookie recipe with you – maybe add green food coloring and make them for Saint Patrick’s Day, or something.

IMG_0031

I made them this weekend and they fueleda day of helping a friend move. Don’t misunderstand me, these aren’t healthy, but they are healthy enough that I didn’t mind that I snacked on a few as I carried tables and unpacked boxes.

Smoky Coco(nutty) Chocolate Chip Cookies
adapted from Joy the Baker

  • 1/2 cup coconut oil
  • 3/4 cup coconut sugar
  • 1 flax egg (1 tbsp flax meal mixed with 3 tbsp warm water)
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 1/4 cups whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/4 cups dark chocolate chips
  • 1 cup nuts of choice (I’ve used walnuts, almonds, pistachios and cashews – all good)
  • smoked salt for topping

Preheat oven to 300 degrees F. Line two baking sheets with parchment paper or silicone baking mats.

With an electric hand mixer, beat coconut oil and sugars together until fluffy, 3-4 minutes. Add the flax egg and beat for another minute. Add vanilla extract and beat to incorporate.

Add the flour, baking soda, and salt to the coconut oil sugar mixture and beat until well combined. Mix in the chocolate and the nuts.

Scoop cookie dough onto baking sheets. (They don’t really spread so they can be pretty close). Sprinkle with smoked sea salt.

Bake for 18 – 20 minutes; less time if you are using parchment, more if you are using a silicone baking mat. Remove and let cool for 5 minutes on the pan before moving to a wire rack to cool completely.

IMG_0034

This cookie is in my top 5 favorite cookies of all time, which is pretty impressive because I love cookies. So make these, and trust they are good. But for all other baking things, head on over to Joy the Baker for expert advice.

One thought on “Smoky Coco(nutty) Chocolate Chip Cookies

Leave a Reply

